1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

conduit search issue

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by bradpark22, Jan 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bradpark22

    bradpark22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    How can I ensure that all entries of search.conduit.com is off of my system. I already did quick scans with malwarebytes pro, SAS pro, adwcleaner and hitman pro. I also deleted every entry of it in system registry.

    DO i need to do anything else?

    thx
     
  2. bradpark22

    bradpark22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    Can I get some help with this please?


    thx
     
  3. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    If I had a virus on my computer I would format the hard drive.
     
  4. bradpark22

    bradpark22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    483
    Can I get some more opinions on the subject plz?

    thx
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Search Conduit is Malware, you should ask a moderator to move this thread to the malware removal forum. You will get more specialized attention there.
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    that is not sensible advice in a case like this
    there might be cases where a virus causes damage and format is needed but for a minor adware, it is really over doing it
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    If you have used malwarebytes & adwcleaner, then any traces left over will be completely harmless so forget about it
    conduit isn't anything much to worry about and is just a minor adware that doesn't do any harm, that can be called a privacy implication in the same way as google tracks you wherever you go to display relevant ads on sites

    Do you panic because google knows where you visit. and rush to format the computer. No! so why panic about conduit which does the same thing but only does it when you have a conduit toolbar installed.
    Removing the toolbar from add/remove programs & then running Malwarebytes and Adwcleaner gets rid of all relevant traces of conduit toolbars.

    If you are getting diverts to conduits own search page then we can look at it & see if we need to do anything
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1117899

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice