Conecting 2 Computers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DaveDong

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
38
Hey im having problems connecting 2 computers in my flat and need some help. ive connected them with crossover cable and both my network cards work but it wont let me see whats in the shared folder of the other computer or the workgroups. also in properties is shows data being sent out on btoh computers but none recieved.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
what OS - have you got them in same domain/workroup
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
What network protocol and network client are you using for the connection? If you are using TCP/IP you will need to specify a unique IP addres for eack PC within the same network. 192.168.0.x with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 will work just fine. Thye also need to have the same workgroup name and unique PC names.
 

DaveDong

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
38
Im using xp home and xp pro. there both in the same workgroup. I am using tcp/ip and tried to specify their ip address but still nothing.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Did you not succeed assigning an IP address Donger? Do you get a link and activity light on both cards when the cable is connected? Can you ping one PC from another?
 

DaveDong

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
38
nah i used 10.0.0.1 and 10.0.0.2 and when the cable is disconnected the computers realise that the cables disconnected but still nothing. not sure about pinging.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
See if they can ping them selves and the remote PC. Is this a home made crosover cable or a store bought one?
 

DaveDong

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
38
i tried piging them and they both timed out. i bought the cable form an independant company.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
I would try a different cable that is a known crossover cable. Can each PC ping itself?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Sounds like you are confusing NetBEUI and NetBIOS over TCP/IP.

NetBEUI is a network protocol, like TCP/IP is. But it is certainly not required for network access. You just need to configure TCP/IP properly.

The default NetBIOS over TCP/IP work fine, don't need to be changed, and most people don't know how to burrow down that far into the protocol stack configuration anyway.

The basics for troubleshooting are:

1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, make sure you turn of XP's firewall.

4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networkcs can be found at:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

10. Apply the registry edit to fix the browsing delay from XP to Win9x computers
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#browsing_delay.

There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting works fine so there is not need to change that either.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
At your own risk - the website for scotsnewsletter used to provide info on where to get the files if you do not have a XP CD but just a recovery file

So here are other links AT YOUR OWN RISK - i have not used this link

protosoft.com/Files/NBF.SYS
protosoft.com/Files/NETNBF.INF
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Again, you don't need NetBEUI for a network. Just need to learn how to configure TCP/IP. It's actually pretty simple.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top