1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Configure for Word

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by lay, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lay

    lay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I'm attempting to install WinWord on my new computer but when I try to install it, I get an error message saying, "The operation system is not presently configured to run this application." The computer came with Works. Can anyone explain how to configure the computer so that it will install WORD?
     
  2. Corrosive

    Corrosive

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    The error message, if you actually read it, kind of hints at what the problem may be. Now, if we knew what 'Operating System' it was, we'd probably be able to help you 'configure' it
     
  3. lay

    lay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    I'm running Windows XP
     
  4. Bruce319

    Bruce319

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    379
    WinWord? What's the price difference of getting Microsoft Word?
    Anyway, before installing this unknown software, try closing all yours programs including Outlook. Then double click on WinWord.exe in your windows explorer. If you still have trouble, read the instructions on how to install this particular software.
     
  5. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,086
    Winword IS Microsoft Word. That's just the name of the execute file.
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You may need to logon as supervisor to install it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172934

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice