1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Configuring 3G USB Modem and router for internet sharing and home networking.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mpece, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mpece

    mpece Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    ok right to it: I have a 3g usb modem that i use to connect to the internet. That connection is shared to my wlan connection that connects to my ddwrt router which is used for home networking and internet sharing.. It would look something like this:

    INTERNET <3G> PC <WiFi> ROUTER <WiFi> OTHER DEVICES

    My problem is that i have trouble accessing the admin area of my router at 192.168.1.1 when my 3g internet is connected or accesing the internet when i can access the admin area ( depending which connection is on top of the list in advanced network settings -> adapter and bindings). What do you think would be the easiest way to solve this and to setup 3g internet sharing most efficiently?

    My PC is the one in specs running windows 8 pro, the usb 3g modem is huawei e353, router gigaset sx763 running ddwrt.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,785
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. mpece

    mpece Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    edit. did some tinkering now i can connect to both the router and the internet now. need to check internet sharing

    edit 2 internet not working on devices connected to wlan. do i need to set sth on the router?
    IP CONFIG:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ********one
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Mobile Broadband adapter Mobile broadband 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HUAWEI Mobile Connect - Network Adapter #
    3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 58-2C-80-13-92-63
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.211.30.136(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.240
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.211.30.129
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 87.252.156.25
    10.48.65.30
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps
    USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-87-23-90-00-A3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.111(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16. sije&#269;nja 2013. 21:34:36
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17. sije&#269;nja 2013. 21:44:16
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-4D-9D-4F-F9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C77FE837-D443-40E8-8E9D-84F1055BA528}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1403:3007:f52c:e177(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1403:3007:f52c:e177%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C3368AE6-E943-4BBA-9C71-04A719B37A89}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,785
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think the following will work with a wireless instead of ethernet connection to the router ...

    JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router

    ---------------------------

    Prior to Windows 7 ICS used 192.168.0.x. In Windows 7 192.168.137.x is used. Don't know about Windows 8. Also, the ipconfig /all indicated whether ICS was enabled prior to Windows 7, but not in Windows 7, and I don't know about Windows 8.
     
  5. mpece

    mpece Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30

    How do i do that since the primary "router" is a 3g usb modem which has a dynamic ip assigned by the operator?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,785
    First Name:
    Terry
    The primary "router" is the computer with ICS enabled. I noted at the end of the post what I know about ICS IP subnets. I would use 192.168.x.254 for the secondary router and see if that works OK.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085537

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice