1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Conflict between multiple routers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MarkST3, Jul 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MarkST3

    MarkST3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,

    I've got a bit of an intermediate setup which probably isn't going to be long-term but I can't think of a logical reason why it shouldn't work so I'd like to solve it... after all, how do you learn about things if you don't give it a go :)

    I have combined DSL modem & wireless router providing internet access "wirelessly" to multiple PCs at home. I also have a wired router, connected to our main PC, also connected to a NAS HD which I use to back-up music and photos- this wired router has no other connection inc internet. (For info, the NAS HD used to be connected to the wireless router but the bandwidth wasn't high enough to support the large volume of data when I was backing up, particularly when our laptop was being used to go online).

    So in summary- the subject PC is connected by wires to a NAS HD via a wired router, but accesses the internet via a wireless router/modem.

    My problem is that there seems to be a conflict between the 2 arrangements- I'm a novice when it comes to setting up networks so I may well have missed something obvious! I have ensured the routers have different IPs (wireless 192.168.0.1 and wired 192.168.1.1) but other than that are left with basic/automatic settings. There was a short time when all seemed to be working in harmony, but shortly afterwards only one set of network connections will work at a time i.e. disable the wired network adapter and the wireless connection to the internet works fine; disable the wireless adapter and the wired connection to the NAS works fine.

    I've plugged all known IPs into my software firewall, and even disabled the firewall and it has no effect.

    I've seen in other places there are some system states that can help diagnose so I've included them below- from them I notice that:
    1) 2 "tunnel adapter local area connections" seem to share the same physical address.
    2) The IPv6 DUIDs for both network adapters are the same.

    Could they be what's causing the problem here?

    Cheers,

    Mark

    ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mark
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT61 Turbo Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-2E-D7-F9-12
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d908:8d50:6649:1e5d%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 July 2010 01:14:44
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 July 2010 01:14:43
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234884654
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-AC-0D-11-00-1D-09-82-69-5D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-82-69-5D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ac0d:a0e2:ccfe:6a3%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.136(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 July 2010 00:39:08
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 July 2010 01:15:21
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201334025
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-AC-0D-11-00-1D-09-82-69-5D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{stuff!}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    route print

    Interface List
    10 ...00 0e 2e d7 f9 12 ...... Ralink RT61 Turbo Wireless LAN Card
    9 ...00 1d 09 82 69 5d ...... Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
    1 ........................... Software Loopback Interface 1
    8 ...02 00 54 55 4e 01 ...... Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    25 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    13 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 isatap.{stuff!}
    ===========================================================================

    IPv4 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.136 20
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.3 25
    127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    127.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.0.3 281
    192.168.0.3 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.3 281
    192.168.0.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.3 281
    192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.1.136 276
    192.168.1.136 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.136 276
    192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.136 276
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.1.136 276
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.0.3 281
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.136 276
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.3 281
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    None

    IPv6 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    If Metric Network Destination Gateway
    1 306 ::1/128 On-link
    9 276 fe80::/64 On-link
    10 281 fe80::/64 On-link
    9 276 fe80::ac0d:a0e2:ccfe:6a3/128
    On-link
    10 281 fe80::d908:8d50:6649:1e5d/128
    On-link
    1 306 ff00::/8 On-link
    9 276 ff00::/8 On-link
    10 281 ff00::/8 On-link
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    None
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Why not simply one router and an Ethernet switch in front of it for all the connections? Having another router in the mix is sure to screw things up.

    What are you trying to accomplish with the secondary router?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    When Windows has a choice of Default gateways to use (needed for internet access) it chooses wired over wireless. So, with your current setup you need to set a static IP on the ethernet connection, mask 255.255.255.0, and leave the Default Gateway and DNS server blank.
     
  4. MarkST3

    MarkST3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    JohnWill- as I said it's an interim setup. The wireless wasn't quick enough to support my bulk data backups, and I had a spare wired router lying around. I was also guessing a basic ethernet switch might solve it.

    TerryNet- cheers for the suggestion but unless I misunderstood exactly what you meant, it doesn't seem to work. I defined an arbitrary static IP for the router (192.168.100.100), applied the mask as you say and left the other fields as blank as I could (they defaulted to 0.0.0.0). No change.

    I'm not in a position to modify the wiring in my house right now so I'll probably get some of those network adapters that transmit over mains wiring.

    If anyone has any other brain-waves I can try in the meantime, just let me know! :)

    Cheers,

    Mark
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    You need not change the router's IP; just your PC's ethernet connection. With the router as it was before just assign your ethernet IP 192.168.1.x, where x is between 2 and 254 but not in the Dhcp server's address range.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you just want to make that router into a switch, we have the recipe for that.


    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc. Note that you should use the same SSID and encryption key for the secondary router but a non-conflicting channel. I recommend channels 1, 6, or 11 for use for the best results.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  7. MarkST3

    MarkST3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Terry, John, cheers guys- I'll give that a go soon and post up what happens!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/934874