1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Confused??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cailtin2r1, Feb 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cailtin2r1

cailtin2r1 Thread Starter

This is my first time asking a question and I hope I'm doing it right, regardless here I go. I found this question which is so close to the problem I'm having so I tried the suggestions including with a little tweaking to make it work for me specifically but without success. My problem is changing my password for my wireless connection in order to stop every Tom Dick and Harry in the building where I live from using it. As it is I have one neighbor who basically lives here so she can play her games.
    What I originally did before trying the suggestions was simply entered in the address bar the IP address 192.168.1.1 and/or 192.168.1 at the suggestion of my cable company who will not help me beyond this point (although today I noticed they may have changed it to 192.168.1.102 when my cursor hoovers over the connection icon on my task bar. Regardless the same thing happens like when I clicked on the suggestion, they can not find the page. My wireless is through Charter Cable Communications and I own my wireless router which is a Linksys WRT54G2, I did once before try to find the answers in the on line manual but they did not cover this specific topic. I'm at a lost as to how to do this. Any and all help will be greatly and forever appreciated.

P.S. Can you tell me why my neighbor can "borrow" the wireless connection on her laptop with the neighbor who lives directly down the hall from her and past me, (my apt. is across the hall from both) but she can not use mine in her apartment?

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry