1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

confused

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Becktoria, Mar 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Becktoria

    Becktoria Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    My desktop had windows xp I installed vista home premium. I am unable to change my resolution. It is showing my tower as unknown device. Any suggestions?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,606
    First Name:
    Terry
    Have you installed the Vista drivers, beginning with the chipset, from the PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site?
     
  3. Becktoria

    Becktoria Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    No. All I did was run the install disc. The only problem is my resolution. I tried the driver updates. Is there a site where I can download the drivers from?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,606
    First Name:
    Terry
    If a brand name PC, the PC manufacturer's site. Else the motherboard manufacturer's site.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,121
    First Name:
    Frank
    Download and save the

    TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe)

    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.

    Information about your computer will appear.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Becktoria

    Becktoria Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    It's an Hp Pavillion 510n. How do know the motherboard manufacture?
     
  7. Becktoria

    Becktoria Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU 1200MHz, x86 Family 6 Model 11 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 509 Mb
    Graphics Card: Standard VGA Graphics Adapter, 4 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 54211 MB, Free - 24504 MB;
    Motherboard: Trigem Computer, Inc., Lomita
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,606
    First Name:
    Terry
    It appears that HP provides only XP drivers for that machine. That eliminates #1 below.

    This is my preferred order for finding drivers:

    1. PC manufacturer's web site,
    2. Motherboard manufacturer's web site,
    3. Device manufacturer's web site,
    4. A "drivers" site, such as DriverGuide,
    5. Anywhere you can find one that might work,
    6. Let Device Manager try to find one.
    7. Use Windows Update.

    (4 through 7 are really tied, and with Windows 7--and maybe 8/8.1-- the Windows Update should be at least 4th. The main message is that the first three are almost always to be preferred.)
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,121
    First Name:
    Frank
    The HP Pavilion 510n desktop is a 2001 - 2002 model that has a very slow Intel Celeron 1.20 GHz processor and only 512 MB of PC100 RAM (its maximum supported amount) and isn't even capable of running Windows XP decently anymore.

    Windows Vista requires a much faster processor and much more RAM to run decently, so that desktop in all likelihood is going to run like a snail or bog down completely.

    Its Intel i810E chipset and Intel 82810E graphics do not support Windows Vista and have no drivers for them, so it's going to run in VGA mode and have very limited resolution and palette settings.

    Where did you obtain the Windows Vista disc from?

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Becktoria

    Becktoria Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    A friend gave me the computer.It was running horrible. It was either toss it or try the Vista disc I had. Figured I had nothing to lose. If it worked,,cool. If not,,it wasn't anyway. The disc was a re-install disc from a Dell laptop. Oh Well. Thank you very much for all the help/info. Guess I should just toss it.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,121
    First Name:
    Frank
    Using a Dell-branded OEM disc to install Windows Vista in a HP computer isn't legal, and you probably won't be able to activate it after it's installed.

    That HP is too old and too slow anyway to properly run Windows XP or Windows Vista, so "retiring it" is probably the best option.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,606
    First Name:
    Terry
  13. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,241
    First Name:
    Andrew
    was going to be my opinion too :D Puppy is pretty cool I have it on an old lapper laying aroundits much faster than yours BUT it runs puppy FLAWLESSLY none the less
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1122683

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice