Connect NAS to wireless network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Brucej85

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
3
I'm thinking of buying a NAS and putting it up in the loft, I have a wireless router in the living room downstairs and want to connect the NAS to my wireless network. My question is, how can I connect the NAS (loft) to the wireless network (router downstairs), can I connect the NAS to a wireless access point?
 

Brucej85

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
3
Would any WAP do the trick? Can I just connect the NAS to the ethernet port at the back for the WAP?

I already have a raid enabled NAS in mind so the wireless one isn't an option.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
Would any WAP do the trick? Can I just connect the NAS to the ethernet port at the back for the WAP?
Should do do you have one in mind
whats the make and model of you router -
if you have a dual band and its broadcasting both 2.4 and 5Ghz - you may want to utilize that - so take care on the specs
 

Brucej85

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
3
Just the standard router that came with my Sky BB, nothing special.

Not got an access point in mind, can you recommend any?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
edimax make a couple - one with one ethernet connection and one with 5 - i use the 5 option and have a TV and Humax PVR connected - which streams all my music to the hifi via the TV or PVR DLNA interface

ADSL => WAG320N router <wireless> edimax WAP EW-7209 <cable> humax & TV

as i say that currently streams Video from the internet iPlayer & HD , Skyplayer onto TV and music via USB 1TB music server <cable> =>WAG320N <wireless> Edimax <cable> TVR onto hifi

BUT that wap is only "G" wireless - you may want to consider "N"
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,437
Why not just hard-wire the NAS to the router with a short CAT5E cable.
What would it matter where the NAS was...I mean, it's a NAS...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top