1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connect two domains with different IP subnet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by slurpeej, May 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slurpeej

    slurpeej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Dear all
    I'm trying to connect two domain with different IP supnet.
    I'm useing one win2000 server with two network cards.
    I don't know why i setup the routing service and still don't work.
    Can someone tell mw what did I do wrong? I need the answer fast. My network IP is 10.10.10.XXX and my other IP is 10.10.20.XXX.
    Thank you.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    What is your subnet mask?

    I have never worked with 2000 server yet, only NT4. Did they do away with domain trusts in 2000, now that they have there Active Directory?
     
  3. slurpeej

    slurpeej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Dear LwdSquashman
    I used defulte subnet mask. 255.255.255.0
    My first domain is 10.10.10.XXX 255.255.255.0
    and my new domain will be 10.10.20.XXX 255.255.255.0
    I got a PC I installed 2000 server and I'll use it to route two domain. I got two network cards installed.
    Win 2000 do have domian trustes but I dont think thats the answer for it. I think the answer is in routeing and remote services.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Well you should be able to see each domain in Network Neighborhood I assume, if the networks are on the same network segment.

    What exactly are you trying to do? I am just trying to figure out why a trust would not work?
     
  5. slurpeej

    slurpeej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    hihi
    our two domain are in different ip segment.
    in the PC router I can see the 2 domains but in the other domain 10.10.20.XXX cant see it.
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    That subnet mask will not work to set up two seperate networks. You basically just have two seperate networks not subnets of the same network. Add a trust relationship between the two domains and it should work fine....I am assuming that Win2K still uses trust relationships.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/136178