1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected but cant browse?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Kalmarath, Apr 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kalmarath

    Kalmarath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Okay uhh, last friday morning, i did what i do everyday which is getting on my ADSL connection first thing in the morning, just when i was so anxious on checking my mails, my connection aint working. I mean I am connected to my ISP's ADSL thing but the connection just didnt move, cant browse, surf, loggin to MSN etc... what happen? i didnt do anything to my network settings.

    So i thought why not give it a shot on my housemate's PC.. it worked, i can browse and all with his comp.. using the same line... and modem

    any idea what happen to my computer's network settings? oh and whenever my windows kick in, theres this Symantec error (either from Systems Work or NAV) message about my network settings... I've checked my friend's settings and mine, they are all the same, eg like "Obtain an IP add automaticaly, Obtain a DNS server add automaticaly".. but mine cant browse

    Is there a way to reset my settings?

    helpieee.. =)

    thanks in advance...
     
  2. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    What version of Windows? You may need to reinstall TCP/IP. If you have WinXP, type this: "netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt" (no quotes) and that should fix your problem. Also check for any proxy settings.
     
  3. Kalmarath

    Kalmarath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Im using winXP stated in my sig hehe.. =)
    you mean type "netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt" in the command prompt?

    thanks...
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    First you might see what IP address information you have

    Open a cmd window
    Run IPCONFIG /all

    See if you can ping the other computer
    See if you can ping the gateway
    See if you can ping an external IP address like 199.1891.164.1
    See if you can ping an external web site by name.
     
  5. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Yes, type "netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt" at the command prompt, and then restart your computer. That will "uninstall and reinstall" TCP/IP.
     
  6. dtugg

    dtugg

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    345
  7. Kalmarath

    Kalmarath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    thanks gurutech, i tried that method, it did reset the Tcp/Ip thing i think but, after that everything's still the same... cant browse and all.. :(

    thanks dtugg i'll give it a try..
     
  8. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    You might want to try a different cat5 cable and/or nic.. I had a similar situation before and it turned out to be the cable.
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Before you can browse, you need to back able to ping.

    What were the results of those tests.
     
  10. dtugg

    dtugg

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    345
    see my post above to fix this problem..... (y)
     
  11. Kalmarath

    Kalmarath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Guru, Bob, gotrootdude and dtugg for the help..
    i tried the regedit thingy and it worked... =)
    thanks again..
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/224044

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice