1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected but no internet access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mikezw, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    My desktop was connected to wireless router by ethernet cable but it seems the ports on the router are now US. Bought netgear N300 USB adapter and installed. Had problems getting "limited connectivity etc" messages 'cos wasn't getting IP address allocated. Have now manually allocated IP address and connection status is now "Connected" (with no warning about limited connectivity etc). However I can't connect to the internet. Any ideas please ?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for replying; didn't understand the bit about Xirrus but here's the ipcongig data :

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D7R9DX0J
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless N-300 USB Adapter WNA3100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-46-9A-12-8C-4E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    Thanks for the help
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    What don't you understand about Xirrus?

    Let's try a dynamic connection (but DO NOT do the Advanced button stuff on that link) until we get this working.
     
  5. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I am communicating from a laptop which is working fine - how do I do the stuff you are suggesting from the desktop which isn't working ?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    It was my understanding that the desktop is working except for networking.

    Anything that requires internet access will have to include a copy from one machine to the other using removable media such as USB flash drive, CD-RW, external hard drive, etc.
     
  7. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have (I hope) attached the Xirrus screen shot you asked for; I tried the dynamic method first and just got "limited connectivity" messages - that's why I manually allocated an IP address.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Screenshots are a lot easier for you and us if you just save them to and attach a .jpg or .png file. :)

    Disable encryption on the router (and make sure MAC Address filtering is disabled) and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  9. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Been away for a few days - sorry about the attachment - have attached a jpeg this time if still relevant. Have tried disabling encryption and MAC filtering is off - still get warning triangle "Limited or no connectivity. I took the network adapter with me and tried it on another machine and network - worked fine, so it's not the adapter.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have XP SP3? Was the other machine the same OS?

    Make sure the following services are Started (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services).

    DHCP Client
    DNS Client
    Network Location Awareness
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
     
  11. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Yes SP3 is installed; the other machine was also XpP with SP3.
    All those services are started and automatic except Network location which is started and manual.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm running out of ideas. Let's see another ipconfig /all (with dynamic connection).
     
  13. mikezw

    mikezw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    A friend has sorted it - don't ask me how !
    Many thanks for all your support - you do a great job.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025464

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice