1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected, but no internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by superpousom, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    For a while, I was able to connect to the internet on my laptop without issue, but starting 2 days ago, I stopped being able to do so. I can connect to my own network, as well as my friends, with good signal strength, but I cannot get into the internet. In both cases. other computers can connect to the internet. Can somebody help me?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
     
  3. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    My ISP is Verizon and I'm in the States
    Network Adaptor is Atheros AR5007E
    Using a Westel 327W
    Wireless Connection
    Modem is In-built Connexant type 1
    Computer is an Acer Aspire 5100
    OS is Windows Vista

    Sorry that took so long, but I've been at work.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You didn't post the make and model of the wireless router you're using. Are you sure your DSL modem says on the label it's a "Connexant type 1"?
     
  5. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Make and model Is Westel 327W.
    In the Device Manager, that's what it says.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The entry under Modems in Device Manager is for dial-up modems. If you're connecting through DSL, you don't use a dial-up modem.

    Is the make and model you listed for your DSL modem? Or for your wireless router? Or do you only have one device that functions as both?
     
  7. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Sorry for my lack of clarification, it's for the router.

    I'm not sure how to check for my DSL modem then.... :(
     
  8. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    I'm sorry I can't give any more info today, I must go to sleep. It's nearly 1 in the morning EST. I'll check and give any more information I can tomorrow morning. Thanks for helping Helix. :)
     
  9. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Hey, I'm back, and my Internet is still being screwy.
    I've opened the command prompt and typed ipconfig/all, so I've got alot more information there. I would copy and paste it, put it on my flash drive and put it here, but I can't seem to do that on the command prompt...
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  11. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\!!!!!>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LOL
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7E-1E-5A-2F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c92:67a1:78e3:3be4%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.41(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 15, 2007 10:05:07 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 16, 2007 10:05:07 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167778686
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-D1-14-C8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.myhome.westell.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.41%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ce7:107a:3f57:fed6%9(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\!!!!!>
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That computer appears to have a connection to the router. Is this the non-working one?
     
  13. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Yes, those settings are for the non-working one.

    Now under the Network and sharing center, it is saying that I am connected to the network and the internet, but still I cant get onto the internet. It's staying local for whatever reason.
     
  14. superpousom

    superpousom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    A few days ago, I deleted something called the Realtek High Definition Audio Driver. Cound that be the problem? The internet stopped working around the same time.
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Why did you delete that?

    Try these simple tests.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    Tell us the results.

    PING yahoo.com

    Tell us the results.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595649

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice