Connected, but no internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
For a while, I was able to connect to the internet on my laptop without issue, but starting 2 days ago, I stopped being able to do so. I can connect to my own network, as well as my friends, with good signal strength, but I cannot get into the internet. In both cases. other computers can connect to the internet. Can somebody help me?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
My ISP is Verizon and I'm in the States
Network Adaptor is Atheros AR5007E
Using a Westel 327W
Wireless Connection
Modem is In-built Connexant type 1
Computer is an Acer Aspire 5100
OS is Windows Vista

Sorry that took so long, but I've been at work.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
You didn't post the make and model of the wireless router you're using. Are you sure your DSL modem says on the label it's a "Connexant type 1"?
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
DoubleHelix said:
You didn't post the make and model of the wireless router you're using. Are you sure your DSL modem says on the label it's a "Connexant type 1"?
Make and model Is Westel 327W.
In the Device Manager, that's what it says.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The entry under Modems in Device Manager is for dial-up modems. If you're connecting through DSL, you don't use a dial-up modem.

Is the make and model you listed for your DSL modem? Or for your wireless router? Or do you only have one device that functions as both?
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
Sorry for my lack of clarification, it's for the router.

I'm not sure how to check for my DSL modem then.... :(
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
I'm sorry I can't give any more info today, I must go to sleep. It's nearly 1 in the morning EST. I'll check and give any more information I can tomorrow morning. Thanks for helping Helix. :)
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
Hey, I'm back, and my Internet is still being screwy.
I've opened the command prompt and typed ipconfig/all, so I've got alot more information there. I would copy and paste it, put it on my flash drive and put it here, but I can't seem to do that on the command prompt...
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\!!!!!>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LOL
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7E-1E-5A-2F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c92:67a1:78e3:3be4%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.41(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 15, 2007 10:05:07 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 16, 2007 10:05:07 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167778686
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-D1-14-C8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.myhome.westell.com
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.41%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ce7:107a:3f57:fed6%9(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\!!!!!>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
That computer appears to have a connection to the router. Is this the non-working one?
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
Yes, those settings are for the non-working one.

Now under the Network and sharing center, it is saying that I am connected to the network and the internet, but still I cant get onto the internet. It's staying local for whatever reason.
 

superpousom

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
33
A few days ago, I deleted something called the Realtek High Definition Audio Driver. Cound that be the problem? The internet stopped working around the same time.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Why did you delete that?

Try these simple tests.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

PING 216.109.112.135

Tell us the results.

PING yahoo.com

Tell us the results.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top