Connected but unable to browse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bwtrumpet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
3
Hi everyone!
Signed up for this account just to ask this question cause I've tried almost everything but nothing is working for me :(
You see my wireless connection indicates that I am connected with Excellent Strength but when I open any site it doesn't let me and says that the system is offline. I tried MSN and the troubleshoot tells me that Default Gateway is offline but I have no idea how to fix that :/

I did an ipconfig/all and it is as follows

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Bryan Wang>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Bryan
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Ad
apter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-15-4A-92
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::224:2bff:fe15:4a92%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 January 2011 21:27:40
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 11:14:07

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast E
thernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-8B-55-32-5D

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%6
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-02-04
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.4%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Really desperate and would appreciate all of your help :D
Thank you in advance!!!

-Bryan
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,758
What brand of computer do you have?

Let me guess--you are using WPA or WPA2 encryption? If so, try disabling encryption on the router and see if that works. If it does, please try WEP and see if that works. If that works, and if you had been using WPA2 or WPA/WPA2 mixed, please try WPA and see if that works.

For the past 3 months we have been seeing problems (the kind you have) with that adapter with WPA(2) encryption.
 

Bwtrumpet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
3
I'm using an Acer Aspire One
I'll try that later but two other laptops connect just fine which led me to think it's the computer's fault :/
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,758
Nope; if you are using WPA(2) encryption it's the adapter's (or its driver's) fault.
 

Bwtrumpet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
3
Finally! IT worked!
However just one question, now that my Security Setting is set to Disabled (Belkin Router Setting)
Does it mean that anyone who can detect my wireless can connect to it?
Is there anyway to set a password still without my laptop getting this problem?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Finally! IT worked!
However just one question, now that my Security Setting is set to Disabled (Belkin Router Setting)
Does it mean that anyone who can detect my wireless can connect to it?
Is there anyway to set a password still without my laptop getting this problem?
YES anyone can connect
Now that you once again have internet access goto device manager and right click on the wireless adapter and do an update and let windows search the web for an update - uses windows update

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Device Manager}
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + >

post back if it updated OK
And then you can try the WPA security BACK on the wireless again and see if that works
otherwise you may need to use WEP

Lets us know the details of how you get on as we are seeing a LOT of issues with this adapter now
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top