1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to internet but pages won't load in firefox, chrome or IE!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Eddie220, Sep 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Eddie220

    Eddie220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I am connected to the internet fine via cable, but I acnnot get any webpages to load. My preferred browser is FF, but I've installed the latest versions of IE and Chrome to try them, and they don't work either.
    I experienced a (strange) gradual and random deteriortion of my browsing - first FF struggled with Yahoo and Facebook, then Youtube and any video content, images, and now everything is down.

    I tried taking the computer to work, and it connects fine there both by cable and wireless...(?!) But I called my ISP and we did a few successful ping tests and they say my home connection is fine...

    I have tried the following:

    - Thorough check for and clean-up of malware (pretty confident the computer is clean now).
    - Tried firefox in safe mode with no luck so assume the problem is not an add-on.
    - Installed latest Adobe Flash Player and Reader and Java
    - Have cleared the cache, run ATF Cleaner, and tried to clear all temp files of any description...

    None of this has had any effect on the problem... Please help!
    Cheers.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    ping 98.137.149.56

    ping yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Eddie220

    Eddie220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi there,

    Please see below for the info requested. I'm not sure if this matters or not, but I repeated the first ping (of 98.137.149.56) several times, and most times it sent 4, received 4, lost 0. However it lost one on the first attempt, so that's what I'm posting.
    Many thanks for your help, by the way.

    --------

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator1>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TOSHIBA-SP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-28-8F-1E

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-10-5A-66
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 121.73.83.215
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 121.73.83.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.97.78.43
    203.97.78.44

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator1>ping 98.137.149.56

    Pinging 98.137.149.56 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=157ms TTL=51
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=158ms TTL=51
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=158ms TTL=51
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 98.137.149.56:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 157ms, Maximum = 158ms, Average = 157ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator1>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [98.137.149.56] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=156ms TTL=51
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=167ms TTL=51
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=159ms TTL=51
    Reply from 98.137.149.56: bytes=32 time=157ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 98.137.149.56:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 156ms, Maximum = 167ms, Average = 159ms
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    It's unusual to see a static IP configuration for residential cable internet access, but since you have access I assume that's correct.

    Since you have internet access and your browsers work elsewhere I think that your modem is defective.

    A second possibility would be a defective cable between modem and computer.

    A third possibility is a non-Windows firewall or security suite that is blocking browsers on a public network but permitting them on a private (assuming that your work connection is through a router).
     
  5. Eddie220

    Eddie220 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks again Terry -

    Yes I have had access in the past with no problems with this IP address (have had to enter the TCP/IP settings manually)...

    I replaced the cable between the modem and the laptop, and this had no effect.

    The ISP said because the ping tests were OK, there was no issue with the connection, but it could still be a defective modem I suppose - I think I will ask my ISP for a new modem.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    Good plan. It can't hurt. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/951064