1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to internet, but web browsers not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mben81, Oct 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I can connect wirelessly at home, yahoo messenger and skype work, but google chrome nor firefox are working. this happened after windows 7 blue screened.

    I can connect to my mom's wireless network but then it says No internet access....

    at wits end!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Megan Ben> IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MeganBen-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-8E-9E-03
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-8E-9E-03
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-8E-9E-02
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::45be:3e3a:6c74:d136%15(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.209.54(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 369108679
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-FE-A6-B6-60-EB-69-3D-FF-86

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-94-3E-AA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6F9B5327-A301-4DD4-A3EF-51CD5A0D3BD2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{3DDC16C8-B5E4-41DC-B0AA-B1F92CC4A663}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{3F2B32F1-ED52-4724-8B13-AB0414398A91}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{03D505FE-D209-4D56-8B7B-7B705C79821C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Megan Ben>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,928
    i don't suppose you remember or made a note of the error

    whats the make and model of the PC - it maybe worth re-installing the adapter driver

    do you have any security suite on the PC or time limited security suites like norton or mcafee etc

    can we see an xirrus screen shot and also do a tcp/ip reset


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you so much for your quick and detailed reply!!

    I unfortunately did not make note of the error - terrible rookie mistake, i know :mad:

    Make and model: HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook PC (quick side-note, when laptop initially boots it comes up to an HP "Splashtop", I can browse the internet and check email here!! (y) but once I load Windows 7, none of the browsers recognize internet (n))

    I have Webroot Internet Security Complete.

    I followed your first set of instructions (tcp/ip reset), rebooted, then downloaded Xirrus (via mom's laptop which I'm on now - used flash drive to install onto my very sick laptop). And now I'm going to attempt to load the screen shot of Xirrus.....
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    ack! i forgot to post rest results - better late than never??

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,928
    not aware of that facility - but sounds like something in startup is causing the issue

    what security suite do you have or ever had on the PC - like Norton, mcafee

    I would uninstall the adapter from device manager - reboot pc and let windows redetect and reinstall the adapter

    wireless may not work in this format - but lets try

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    Uninstall Webroot Internet Security Complete. If they have a Removal Tool to clean up run that. You can reinstall Webroot after testing.
     
  7. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I'm sorry but what "adapter" - how do i uninstall the adapter? and do I do this while in safemode?

    Thanks!
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,928
  9. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10

    Have not uninstalled webroot yet - is that the adapter you were referring to?

    Trying to start up in safe mode now - the only 2 options that came up were: Launch startup repair and Start windows normally"
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,928
    you may have missed the time slot get to Safemode - only 2 seconds just before the windows logo

    try again and keep tapping again
     
  11. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I have tried that 4 times now - I tap as it first turns on - it gets to HP's *Splashtop* and then I click start windows and start tapping like crazy again and it still makes it to windows :( gggrrrr
     
  12. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    yea!!! finally caught it - starting in safemode with networking now....
     
  13. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    It says connected to Ogle (my mom's wireless network) and under it says No Internet access - Google Chrome not connecting nor Firefox Mozilla - Skype works tho
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,928
    can you try with a cable connected to the router ?

    lets also see this

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove any proxy settings
    Check your browser's settings, remove or uncheck any proxy settings if found
    http://www.library.kent.edu/page/14299

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    i guess the next stage after that would be to remove webroot
    but make sure you have all the details keys etc, if you want to re-install
     
  15. mben81

    mben81 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    No Proxy already selected
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1023071