1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to my wireless router, but internet doesn't work.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Gunmonkeys, Nov 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    I recently switched over to Comcast for internet and have an xfinity router. The wifi works perfectly on all computers and devices except one. It's not working on a large desktop that uses a TP-Link wireless card. When I try to connect to the internet from Firefox on this computer, it just says "Connecting..." on the top of the tab for a while and eventually goes to a "Server not found" page.

    Every now and then, usually after I try something random to fix it (such as turning on "SoftAP mode" on the TP-Link card) the internet will work for a few seconds, but then it stops again.

    (Sorry if I didn't put enough information in here; tell me if you need to know anything else.)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    The computer has Microsoft Security Essentials for its anti-virus software. I installed Malwarebytes Anti-Malware recently as well.

    These are the results I got after following the steps you gave:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : (REMOVED)
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EE-94-F6-C8-0A-C0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TP-LINK 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-94-F6-C8-0A-C0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:9:4780:16af:8189:c354:72f5:a071(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:9:4780:16af:5989:9944:ab04:3e15(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8189:c354:72f5:a071%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 7:15:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 7:28:04 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::921a:caff:fe40:2b71%13
    10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 334009590
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-95-AD-52-00-25-22-DD-88-12
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
    2001:558:feed::2
    75.75.75.75
    75.75.76.76
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-22-DD-88-12
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ca.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:3cf3:62f:f5ff:fffa(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3cf3:62f:f5ff:fffa%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Thanks for the quick reply, by the way!
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all from a working PC
    it may be an ipv6 issue

    is it possible to try with a cable connection at all?

    What windows version are you running
    try

    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For Windows 8 - see below

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    For windows 8

    http://www.7tutorials.com/5-ways-boot-safe-mode-windows-8-windows-81
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/windows-startup-settings-including-safe-mode
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/ss/windows-8-safe-mode.htm

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Which version of Windows is on the desktop?
     
  6. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    By cable connection, do you mean a computer plugged directly into the xfinity router? If so, there is a computer plugged into the router, and it's working fine.

    I tried using Safe More with Networking as you said, but the internet acted the same way it's been acting.

    The desktop is running Windows 7.

    Here's the results from a computer (running Windows XP) that the wifi is working on:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : (REMOVED)
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-02-AB-16

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-5E-77-34
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
    75.75.76.76
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 1:00:33 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 1:00:33 PM
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no , i meant connect the faulty PC to the router by cable

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Well, the computer is very far away from the router, so it'd be hard to get a cable to it. Are you asking this because you think we won't be able to fix the wifi and should just use a cable, or because you think plugging a cable into it would help in fixing the wifi?

    Here're the results I got when I typed in the commands you said:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>

    After I entered all this in and restarted it, the internet still did the same thing, by the way.
     
  9. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Download Fix It tool 50410 (Prefer IPv4 over IPv6) from a computer with internet and transfer it over to the problem computer and run the tool. Do not use any of the other tools provided on the page at this time.


    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929852
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,988
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I just wanted to try out the cable connection to see if that worked OK and if it was just a wireless issue on the PC or both

    try CoolBurn fixit to remove the IPv6
    a few new devices are starting to use IPv6 and then having issues - I know a canon printer which had the issue that it connected using IPv6 and looked like it should work - but did not - so disabling IPv6 resolved the issue
     
  11. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    So, should I try to run a cable to the faulty desktop? It's pretty far away, but I could probably do it.

    I downloaded that tool and used it on the desktop. It didn't seem to change anything; the internet still isn't working.

    Some more information that might be helpful:

    The desktop is pretty far away from the xfinity router, but my laptop is even farther away from the router, so I don't know if this is likely to be the problem. As I said before, the desktop is using a TP-Link wireless card (more specifically, a Model:TL-WN881ND Ver:1.1 one), which makes me think maybe the card isn't receiving the wifi very well.

    Every time I start up the computer, it says "No internet access" at first while connected to the wifi. After a bit, it changes to "Internet access", but it still doesn't work.

    Also, before I switched to the xfinity router, the internet was working, and it was getting wifi from a different router.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest driver from TP-LINK's web site.

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows Vista or latter I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  13. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    I tried getting the newest driver from TP-Link, but it doesn't seem to have helped at all. As for the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, how do I get that program? When I click download, it takes me to a form asking for my company name, but I'm not part of any company.

    I did find out something really interesting, though. I went to Device Manager and uninstalled the TP-Link wireless card. Then I tried using the internet on the desktop with an ethernet cable connected to a laptop that was picking up the wifi. It worked perfectly. Then I reinstalled the device and turned off the laptop, and it stopped working again. The weird thing is: I tried using the laptop to give the desktop internet before - without uninstalling the TP-Link device - and it still didn't work. So it seems like the TP-Link card must be the source of the problem. Even when I use another device to give the desktop internet, the TP-Link card seems to be blocking out the signal. Any ideas on how to get the card to stop acting this way?

    I'm gonna check and make sure I have the latest driver again sometime; I might not have done it right.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    They keep changing their web site--sometimes making you jump through more hoops to get their product. I use "Self" when I have to give a company name.

    When you're using ethernet the simplest way to prevent any complications is to just disable the wireless: in Network Connections right click on the wireless and select 'Disable.'
     
  15. Gunmonkeys

    Gunmonkeys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    I got the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and there's a screenshot in the attachments.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1136714

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice