1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to network, but can't access internet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Chuck_D, Jan 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chuck_D

    Chuck_D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hey guys, I've been going though quite a few of your threads seeing if solutions given to people with similar problems would work, but i haven't had any luck, so I decided my own thread would be the best choice....especially since I'm just seeing the same ideas over and over.

    So here's my situation. I recently moved in with someone else who already had a PC. Since my bedroom didn't have cable on it, my PC was off the internet for about 2 months (mostly waiting for the cable company to come and install the cable in there). Well, finally the cable guys come and they set up the connection. The modem says it's connected, the computer itself says it's connected, but no program (Firefox, IE, various auto-updaters) can access the internet. The cable guys suggested that it could be my Avast! anti-virus (the default McAfee was removed long ago). So I uninstalled that with no result. I then began looking for similar problems on here and other forums. I can ping my IP fine, and I can ping my gateway fine, but I can't ping any external IP (with host name or IP address). Windows firewall was turned off, and I even made a specific exception for IE on the firewall....this did nothing. I tried fixing the winsock entry to no avail (oh yeah, I was running XP with Serv Pack 3, so I tried the auto-fix for this and the manual way). So I became desperate and thinking it was a corrupted program/registry key/whatever, I completely re-formatted my computer thinking it would reset any problem. Nope.

    After re-formatting I still have the exact same problem. I immediately used my laptop and a flash drive to get the McAfee removal tool, but after using it, it did not help at all. So I know now that it was not any anti-virus program, registry key, or windows update. Before and after the re-format, it said the network adapter was working properly, so i never explored that route, but everything seems fine there. So I'm running XP with no updates and no anti-virus programs on the affected computer.


    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Abriam26

    Abriam26

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Do Start.
    And if u have XP, use Run.
    In Run type CMD.
    in CMD, type ipconfig /all
    And then Rightclick on the CMD, click Select All.
    Press CTRL+C.
    Paste it in a word document or something.
    Copy it on usb stick or something.
    Copy it on the laptop/computer with internet.
    Paste the ipconfig /all results in here
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    anyone else able to use the internet - do you know its actually working correctly and not an ISP issue

    post back the following info


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Chuck_D

    Chuck_D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Edit: Sorry.
     
  5. Chuck_D

    Chuck_D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Internet use is definitely available. The other PC is connected and it's wireless network still works. Here's the IPconfig and ping test data:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Chuck>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D9F6T191
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-E2-97-A1
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 30, 2011 4:08:13 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 30, 2011 4:08:43 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Chuck>

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Ping Tests}

    C:\Documents and Settings\Chuck>ping 192.168.100.1

    Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.100.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms


    C:\Documents and Settings\Chuck>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Documents and Settings\Chuck>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    well those results show you can see the router but not gain access to the internet

    Lets try in safemode with networking
    start the pc and keep tapping F8 a menu will appear
    choose
    safemode with networking
    and repeat all the tests again

    have you ever had a security suite on the pc like norton, mcafee etc
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977868

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice