1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to router but cannot access internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by orish, Sep 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi - I'm having almost the the same problem as http://forums.techguy.org/networking/1052022-connected-but-no-internet-connection.html but this time my modem/router is properly connected to the internet.

    I have Windows 7. What happens is that after a while (even if I'm using the computer, so it doesn't go to sleep or anything, but perhaps if I haven't accessed the internet during this time), I can no longer access the internet.

    The WiFi or cable LAN indicator says that I am still connected - and the other computers in the house are all still connected and can access the internet - but when I try to access a web page or connect to my mail server, I get a message "cannot connect to the internet, click here to diagnose the problem".

    If I run the internet troubleshooting utility, I either get:
    1. No problems have been detected with your internet connection; or
    2. Please reset your router and then click next to continue.

    Obviously, there is no need for (2), because everyone else can access the internet - however, I did try this just for completeness.

    The TCP/IP settings are all set to auto-detect. I did try deleting and reinstalling the internet adaptor device (which reset the configuration to the original default settings), I tried setting the power setting to "don't allow computer to switch off device", I tried changing the (laptop) power settings. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting from the internet, switching between wireless and cable connectivity, releasing/renewing all the adaptors, flushing the DNS using ipconfig, but no use.

    I also can't even connect to the router by the way (192.168.1.1), so the problem is definitely a Windows or device or driver issue. I have no viruses or malware so far as I can detect (I scanned using Norton 360 and BoostSpeed for any potential computer problems).

    - On one occasion changing the power profile worked! And I was able to continue accessing the internet. But I've never been able to do it again.

    The only thing that works consistently is restarting the computer (without having to restart the router).

    Any ideas?

    One thing that may be relevant is that this problem only occured after I returned from a trip to China where I had to manually enter alternative DNS Server addresses because the router in the hotel couldn't obtain any local DNS servers automatically. It was only when I returned home and set the TCP/IP configuration back to automatic that this problem (above) appeared. It may be coincidence, or I may have misconfigured something. But I thought that deleted the network devices in device manager and reinstalling them on boot-up would make eliminate this as a potential cause to the problem...

    Many thanks,
    Gary
    :confused:
     
  2. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Try giving the NIC and static address. Forcibly set an IP Address.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,167
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver. If it is an integrated adapter get it from the PC manufacturer's web site. Even if you have the latest reinstall it in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    Uninstall Norton and run Symantec's Norton Removal Tool. You can reinstall it after testing.
     
  4. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi I haven't tried the TCP/IP stack repair yet, will do so next. (But I don't understand why I have to uninstall Norton? Does Norton interfere with the stack configuration in some way?)

    I manually set the DNS server address(es) ... jm, is this what you meant? I'm not sure what you mean by "giving the NIC" or did you mean "give the NIC a static address" (but it already has a fixed machine address, so I don't understand exactly). I set the DNS server addresses on the IP4 properties for both the LAN and wireless adapter.

    Interestingly, I was able to remain connected to the internet even after sleep/idle time... but after a (much longer) while of inactivity, I could ONLY connect to the google search page - nowhere else, not even the router (192.168.1.1).

    Xirruss showed the following stats when I ran a connection test:
    DNS Reachable 203.113.127.199 Ping: 5 of 5, 50 msec latency Pass
    Gateway Reachable 192.168.1.1 Ping: 5 of 5, 3 msec latency Pass
    DNS Lookup www.google.com IP address: 118.174.24.39 Pass
    Internet Reachable 118.174.24.39 Ping: 5 of 5, 53 msec latency Pass

    But when I connect to a website I get the usual message: "cannot connect, click to run an internet diagnosis"

    I did try to disable/delete the network adapters but it just hung until I stopped the process with task manager. I finally rebooted and, interestingly enough, the adaptors had been disabled, but once re-enabled, I was able to access the internet normally again.

    This is very puzzling!
     
  5. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hello again... the TCP/IP Stack resets seems to have done the trick. I'm still online...! :)
    Thanks Terry.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,167
    First Name:
    Terry
    Through other threads I have found that your symptoms are usually caused by incorrect driver or "a little" corruption in the driver, stack or firewall. The way to discover and fix corruption in the (Norton in this case) firewall is to uninstall/reinstall. :)

    You're welcome. :)
     
  7. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Oops! No that didn't solve it after all. After a few more hours, the same problem came back again and I had to reboot again. :( I haven't uinstalled/reinstalled norton yet, I'll try that next.
     
  8. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Well, I uninstalled Norton 360, and reinstalled the latest upgrade and updated all the databases and drivers. But still no good...!

    I usually have projects open in my computer in various stages of (non)completion for weeks at a time. It's very difficult to have to restart the computer (about once a day) and try to remember what I was working on and where I was in a document and which files/pages I had open for reference, etc. :( The hibernation feature is so useful!

    Any ideas of what else could be causing this glitch?????

    Thanks.
     
  9. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    I would uninstall Norton and use something like Microsoft Security Essentials for the time being
     
  10. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    hi thanks for the reply, but what have you got against norton (/ why do you think norton is the culprit)? I've been using norton for a year on this machine, and also on other machines, and never had this internet access problem before. What's puzzling is that neither windows troubleshooter and xirrus detects any problem, yet I cannot access anything on the internet, not even the router.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,167
    First Name:
    Terry
    a: see post # 6.

    b: see your last sentence: "What's puzzling is that neither windows troubleshooter and xirrus detects any problem, yet I cannot access anything on the internet, not even the router."
     
  12. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Terry, I don't understand your cryptic reply I'm afraid. Firstly, the posts aren't numbered so I don't know what is post #6. Secondly, I'm eliminated Norton as a candidate by not only uninstalling it, but reinstalling a new, upgraded version; not to mention that this problem doesn't exist on all the other machines in our house that has Norton installed. If it were a firewall "corruption" then re-installing it would have done the trick, but it didn't.

    What about my last sentence? With or without a firewall, when the connection disappears (at random it seems), I can't even access the router or anything on the LAN for that matter. Yet the operating system, norton diagnostics, windows network diagnostics and xirrus utility still detects the connection as open and valid.

    I'm looking for new ideas. I've followed all the suggestions in forums about power settings, reinstalling/updating drivers, resetting stacks, etc. etc. and it doesn't seem to be anything to do with files or drivers.

    Rather than go through all the usual options blindly without any understanding of the underlying factors, how about a more 'technological' approach? How can I find out what's not working, by examining a log file, or looking at processes or status values, or running a more sophisticated diagnostic?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,167
    First Name:
    Terry
    For post # 6 please see my attachment (if I remember to attach it).

    Please show the following for a good connection and for "when the connection disappears."

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    OK - I checked the configuration "before" and "after". They were both IDENTICAL. Curiously, although I was unable to go to a website or connect skype or connect to the router 192.168.1.1, any previous connection that was "live" continued to function.

    For instance, I was downloading a large video file, and that CONTINUED TO DOWNLOAD even though I could no longer connect to the internet. If I had a google results page, I could continue to browse to the second or subsequent pages through the results.

    So the connections to the internet and the LAN were still "open" (which is why dagnostics couldn't find anything wrong and why xirrus showed all connectivity functioning as normal).

    But I couldn't open a new connection, like log in to my pop server, or open a new web page. And if I tried to refresh other pages, I could no longer view them either.

    It all goes away if I restart the computer (logging out and logging back in again doesn't do it, nor does disabling or re-enabling the adaptor, etc.)

    This is such a bizarre problem, has anyone had anything like this before???
     
  15. orish

    orish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I can successfully ping my router or any website, but I can't access the internet with a browser, an ftp client or outlook! I've upgraded the internet adapter drivers and installed the latest upgrade to Norton 360, I've deleted and reinstalled the internet devices.

    I don't know what else to try. The only solution is to restart windows, which I have to do about twice a day...

    Any help or ideas????
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1070684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice