Connected to the internet... But can't load webpages

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BTMS_RIO

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2002
Messages
62
Hi,

I use Dial-Up. I can connect to the internet no problem, but when i open up internet explorer i can't load any webpages or use msn messanger. Switching browsers doesn't help. I know it's not my ISP cause i can use the same account on same phone jack on my laptop with no problem. I am running Win ME. I tried toying around with the connection tap under tools --- internet options Any ideas?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
1,307
Are you getting any error messages? What does it say at the bottom status bar?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
1,307
You may want to check your connection setup. Ensure all the information is correct.

Better yet, get a cable modem or DSL...You'll never go back to dial up again.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
What Operating System are you running on the puter that won't pull up a page? Do you have a firewall on the machine?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
2,281
By any chance, have you ever used any Sygate products like Sygate Personal Firewall, etc.? In my machine, it created a similar problem and I solved it some time back accidently.

Secondly, does your connection behave like this since beginning? Do you remember installing or uninstalling some software after which this problem started?

Is your phone line without disturbance? If possible, test your modem and phone lines on another machine.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Go to Start > Run and type in "ping 64.58.76.176" with out the quotes and hit Enter on the keyboard.

You should get something like the following:

C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>ping 64.58.76.176

Pinging 64.58.76.176 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=238

Ping statistics for 64.58.76.176:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 54ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 54ms

C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>

Do you get this or something else?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
2,281
BTMS_RIO said ...
How did you correct the segate error?
I guess he is asking it to me, so I am replying to this one.

I had to do two things. First, I disabled smc from the registry. That used to run everytime I start my PC and create a key in registry called Teefer. This Teefer was the source of all problems.

Second, I had to manually delete this key. It existed in
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
System
CurrentControlSet
Services
VXD
Teefer.

Please keep in mind that registry is a very delicate part of windows (as are the rest of the things in Windows :rolleyes: ) and if you mess around with it, you may have to reinstall windows. So be careful if you are not experinced in this.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top