1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to wifi but internet not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Izbiz, Sep 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    This problem has been ongoing for a few months now, butonly seems to happen when I'm connected to virgin wifi, not bt.
    I have windows 7.
    My laptop says I have full wifi signal and connected to the internet. However when I open up either chrome or internet explorer, neither work. Chrome takes a while to try and load the page, then comes up with this web page is not available and ERR_REFUSED_CONNECTION.
    Have tried everything I can think if (virgin when tried to help me over the phone but couldn't really) please help! (Am not that techy so not sure what to do!)
    Thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,616
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows Vista or latter I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thannkyou so much for your help. I don't think I can do the wi-fi insector report as I would have to download it I think, and I don't have internet on my laptop to do that. If it has to be done on the laptop thats not working...
    But I have included the cmd command I got.




    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]

    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Isabelle>IPCONFIG/ALL


    Windows IP Configuration


    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RPC-is338

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8A-03-9A-C8-7B-F7

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adap

    ter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-03-9A-C8-7B-F7

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4db1:36d3:1dbc:eb09%24(Preferred)

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.7(Preferred)

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 12 September 2015 20:54:50

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 13 September 2015 20:54:49

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 216531866

    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-39-69-FC-E8-03-9A-BB-99-CC


    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-03-9A-C8-7B-F8

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-03-9A-BB-99-CC

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5011E3F0-99EC-42D2-9BC4-9DE0F3BAB037}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter isatap.{212E19BE-8224-48A9-B212-1E27936BD2A2}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:51c8:4032:10fc:97e:3f57:fff8(Prefe

    rred)

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10fc:97e:3f57:fff8%28(Preferred)

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    C:\Users\Isabelle>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,616
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try these tests--same way as for the ipconfig /all. (Double spacing the output is not necessary, and actually annoying.)

    ping 192.168.0.7 (or whatever the current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 8.8.4.4

    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Isabelle>ping 192.168.0.7

    Pinging 192.168.0.7 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.7: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.7: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.7: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.7: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.7:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Isabelle>ping 162.168.0.1

    Pinging 162.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 162.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Isabelle>ping 8.8.4.4

    Pinging 8.8.4.4 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=55
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=55
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=55
    Reply from 8.8.4.4: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 8.8.4.4:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 36ms, Maximum = 43ms, Average = 40ms

    C:\Users\Isabelle>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [98.138.253.109] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.138.253.109: bytes=32 time=153ms TTL=48
    Reply from 98.138.253.109: bytes=32 time=152ms TTL=48
    Reply from 98.138.253.109: bytes=32 time=150ms TTL=48
    Reply from 98.138.253.109: bytes=32 time=147ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 98.138.253.109:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 147ms, Maximum = 153ms, Average = 150ms

    C:\Users\Isabelle>
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,616
    First Name:
    Terry
    Maybe the Xirrus output will give us a good hint. Try to find a computer with internet access to download the Xirrus setup and copy it to this computer. I doubt that the following will make any difference, but it won't hurt ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  7. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    This is the screenshot from xirrus.

    upload_2015-9-13_9-47-42.png

    Other people in mmy house can connect ok to the wifi on thir laptops (although can be very slow and temperamental - been trying to get virgin to fix this) Just mine can't, so not sure if it's something on my laptop eg blocking it.

    Also did the command prompts requested and restarted- still no internet.
     
  8. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    This laptop can but mine can only connect to the 2G option and the 5G doesn't show but I'm pretty sure that's hust some older laptops (as virgin said)
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,616
    First Name:
    Terry
    That Xirrus output looks pretty good, but strangely you now have a different (from post # 3) wireless adapter. Still have trouble loading web pages with this one?
     
  10. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    From the laptop I downloaded Xirrus on? No, I am using it fine, it is sometimes apparently slow but does connect. Just my laptop (the laptop I have been doing the cmd on)
     
  11. Izbiz

    Izbiz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    So overall do you think I should go and ask PC world if they can get it working?
     
  12. jhayz

    jhayz

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    543
    Try disabling your antivirus or protection software installed then check the difference.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1155685

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice