1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to Wireless network but not receiving packets

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tech_unsavvy, May 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I've searched and seen similar problems to this but haven't yet found a fix. Here goes:

    There are 3 computers in the house - a desktop and 2 laptops. We have a wireless router provided by Telefonica (the monopoly holding telephone company here in Spain).

    I'm currently connected to the router through a network cable, and have no problem connecting to the internet. Both laptops are connected wirelessly to the router - but only one can access the internet.

    The other one claims to be connected, but under "Status" it says it's not receiving any "packets", and any attempt to open a webpage results in "Server Not Found."

    In order to connect that laptop to the router, I had to manually enter an IP address - if I leave it to its own devices it doesn't get one. I have the same problem with the desktop machine, if I unplug the network cable and try to connect via wireless ("Limited or No connectivity" with an automatically assigned IP address, Connection but no internet with a manually assigned one.)

    Firewalls are off, Wireless cards are working fine, all machines are connected to our router (although others are visible in the Available Wireless Networks window).

    I'd really appreciate any advice you can give me on this, because I'm about ready to start drilling holes in walls and running cables everywhere - which is exactly what I wanted to avoid by buying a wireless router.

    Thankyou.
     
  2. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Please provide the following, first for the computer that works, then for the laptop that does not work:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    {credit johnw}
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Assigning a static IP will help this problem only if the router's Dhcp server is disabled or its Dhcp address range is exhausted.

    Login to your router using the ethernet connected computer. Make sure the Dhcp server is enabled and has a satisfactory address range. If you are preventing yourself from connecting wirelessly through the use of MAC Address filtering, rip that "feature" out of the router. OK, OK, you can't quite do that, but at least disable it.

    Is your network secured (encrypted)?
     
  4. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Okay, here we go:

    First, the laptop that connects wirelessly with no problems:

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : NAT
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-11-F4-F8

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network

    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-55-D6-97
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.33
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.103.160.177
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 80.58.61.250
    80.58.61.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 27 May 2007 20:54:07
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 28 May 2007 08:54:07

    ----------------------------------------

    The desktop PC currently connected with a network cable:

    (I'm afraid the OS is Spanish but all the info is in the same order).

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bigone
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo . . . . . . . . . . : desconocido (unknown)
    Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
    Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No

    Adaptador Ethernet Conexión de área local :

    Sufijo de conexión específica DNS :
    Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-5B-B6-34-17
    DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Yes
    Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.34
    Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 192.168.1.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 10.103.160.177
    Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 80.58.61.250
    80.58.61.254

    -----------------------------------

    Lastly, the laptop that won't go online:


    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MIKE
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-D0-6A-C6-60

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11g MiniPCI Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-9A-C9-6A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.35
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 80.58.61.250
    80.58.61.254

    The IP address etc for the last one was entered manually. If I leave the router to assign an IP address those fields show up as 0.0.0.0

    ---------------

    Thanks for taking the time to look at this. Hope it's something simple.
     
  5. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I'm looking at the router configuration page now. It says that MAC filtering is disactivated.

    The DCHP range is from 192.168.1.33 - 192.168.1.253. (I can't see any option for enabling or disabling DCHP on that page)

    The encryption is set to WEP, and the key number on the router page matches what I've put into the laptop.
     
  6. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    In the laptop with problem, you need to enable DHCP.

    In the wireless adpter: TCP/IP proerties:

    Make sure "Obtain IP address automatically" is checked.

    Also, make sure "obtain DSN automaticall" is checked.
     
  7. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Trouble is, if I let the laptop obtain its IP address automatically I just get the "Limited Or No Connectivity" message. The same thing happens with the desktop if I try to connect via wireless.

    What I can't understand is why I'm able to connect via cable with no problems, but with wireless the machines will find the router but get no further. To me this makes no sense...
     
  8. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    192.168.1.1

    type the above into the address bar of IE

    that will get you into your router. Check and see the wireless section in the router is ON
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Your router's Dhcp server's address range is .33 through .253. That probably means that the first address it assigns is .33 (see NAT computer). The second one it will assign is probably .34. That will conflict with the .34 that you have statically assigned to the bigone computer. And so you will not get connected. In fact I think that's one of the conditions that can lead to 0.0.0.0 IP. Anyhow, either change bigone's ethernet to get its IP automatically or else assign it an IP in the range .2 throught .32 to avoid conflicts with Dhcp.

    The above does not explain why the MIKE computer does not work with the static IP.

    If JohnWill's stack repair does not help, I suggest to disable encryption until we get the other wireless connections working.
     
  11. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    After running the Winsock commands, this is what the ipconfig looks like on the MIKE laptop:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MIKE
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-D0-6A-C6-60

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11g MiniPCI Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-9A-C9-6A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.217.233
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


    The wireless connection now says "Limited Or No Connectivity", although it claims to have "Very Good" signal strength.

    The wireless router is definitely functioning, because the other laptop is connected to it with no cable -- on the router configuration page it reads "activated".

    I don't see any option to disable encryption, only to change it from WEP to WPA.
     
  12. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    On the laptop with problem, check and see if "Obtain DNS automatically" is also enabled. .


    Also, make sure you are not running both WZC and any utility software for the wireless adapter. If so, recommend using WZC and disabling/removing the utility.
     
  13. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Both "Obtain DNS automatically" and "Optain IP address" are checked.

    I found the WZC under Start>Run>services.msc and it says "Started" and "Automatic". I don't know how to find out if there is other utility software running.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    "I don't see any option to disable encryption, only to change it from WEP to WPA."

    There is no option for 'none' or 'open'? Or a different selection to use or not use encryption (security)?

    The 169.254.x.y type IP is assigned when no Dhcp server is found on the network. Since you already checked and the router's Dhcp server is running, that means the router and adapter are not communicating. Three of the causes of this are an encryption problem, multiple utilities running (as invalidusername pointed out) and a 3rd party firewall blocking LAN access.

    If you try to connect MIKE via ethernet and get the same problem, a firewall is almost definitely the cause. If you can connect wired, the problem is not a firewall.
     
  15. tech_unsavvy

    tech_unsavvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I can connect okay via ethernet.

    Sorry, I'm not sure where I should be changing the encryption setting. On the router configuration page there's only the WEP/WPA choice.

    In the Wireless Network Properties window, under a tab labeled "Association", I've got this:

    Network Authentication: Open (with the option to change it to Shared, WPA or WPA-PSK)

    Data Encryption: WEP (with the option to change it to Disabled)

    Should I change one or both of these?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/577805