1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connected to wireless network but says "No wireless networks were found in range" !!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by djstoop_id, Oct 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djstoop_id

    djstoop_id Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Hi, I've searched for about an hour and a half around the forums to try and find the answer to this but I didn't. I'd rather not bring my laptop to the store for repairs since I don't know when I'll see it back !!

    I have a laptop, about 2 years old. Worked almost flawlessly until recently. It's a toshiba satellite celeron 2.8 I believe with 768 megs of RAM.


    I have a problem with my wireless connection. Recently, it started "not finding available networks". It's stupid because the wireless card actually works since I'm connected right now, as I am typing this. My card automatically connects to the last network it was in, so I can only connect to a random network that is around my house, but not my actual one. I cannot change my connection to my own router since it says "No wireless networks found in range". It's not cool because now, at school, I can't get on the network since it can't find it...

    The Network stumbler finds 8 connections around my house, but the "wireless network connection" window doesn't.

    I reinstalled my drivers, I tried playing in the services and msconfig-boot utilities to see if I had disabled something... nothing.

    anybody ever saw something like that ?


    thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    No, I never saw that before, and your title seems to be self-contradictory (although I do understand that it does describe what's happening!). :(

    Sounds like you have both Windows' WZC and the adapter's utility running, and you need to kill one of them.

    The adapter's utility probably has a shortcut icon in the Startup Folder; remove it if you want to use WZC.

    Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services - scroll to the bottom to find Wireless Zero Configuration. Stop it and make the Startup Type 'disabled' if you want to use the adapter's utility.
     
  3. djstoop_id

    djstoop_id Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    thank you for the fast answer. I disabled WZC, so it says in the "wireless network connection" window that it is disabled... but I'm still connected to my default network... I don't see any other applications running that could explain that... and I didn't install anything relating to my wireless connection since I bought the computer... why did it start to do that all of a sudden...?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    I haven't yet heard of a wireless adapter connecting on its own, without some wireless utility controlling it. So if WZC is not running, there must be another one. It'll probably, but not necessarily, have "Toshiba" or your adapter's brand as part of its name.

    You might want to read through another thread--the person had similar problems and had no other utility running, until he found it: http://forums.techguy.org/networking/507204-solved-strange-wireless-network-problem.html
     
  5. djstoop_id

    djstoop_id Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    thanks Terrynet, but it doesn't help my cause.

    I have checked all processes, there isn't one for another utility, and when I start Net Stumbler, the WZC says there's another utility running, but right now, it doesn't say that so I have to assume that there's nothing else running. I've checked the services, the WZC serv ice is started, anything else that I might have disabled ?

    Is there any other utility I might use to connect to a network then ?
     
  6. djstoop_id

    djstoop_id Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    I solved my problem. I don't know exactly what I did, I just restarted some services that were on "manual" and now I can see the connection. The only problem I see, is that I don't know which service was responsible for this problem. But anyway.


    THanks for your time man. I appreciate it.
     
  7. FakerMcFakerson

    FakerMcFakerson

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Here's my experience

    ~: The Wireless Zero Configuration services was set to Automatic and the service was set to control my wireless connections.
    ~: I could automatically connect to my wireless router, but could not VIEW any networks via the Wireless Zero Configuration controls.
    ~: There was no Third Party software installed for managing wireless connections
    ~: Having "Automatically connect to non-preferred networks" CHECKED within the interface's driver allowed the adapter to connect to my router automatically.


    ~/~Having the EVENT LOG service Disabled was apparently the culprit in this situation. Having re-enabled it Wireless Zero Configuration can now view all networks that broadcast their SSID.

    Hope that helps someone.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you have disabled the SSID broadcast, and manually configured the wireless connection, you could have "no wireless networks in range" and still be connected. Why don't you check to see if SSID is disabled on the router?
     
  9. johnbanner

    johnbanner

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I had the same problem on an HP nx7010. It would connect to my network at home and yet when I tried to view available wireless networks it said that there were non available (even though I was connected).

    I checked the services and found various ones turned off that were listed as automatic, so i turned them on and then restarted my machine. Amazingly it solved the problem - Unfortunately I do not know which one was the problem, but if you are having problems like this then it would seem that checking the right services are switched on is the way ahead
     
  10. johnbanner

    johnbanner

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    should have said thanks to FakerMcFakerson for pointing the way!!!

    cheers!
     
  11. itinko

    itinko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    FakerMcFakerson - Thanks a bunch for that clue ... the Event Log!! My client is elated her WiFi works again! And she's going to be really mad at her husband for turning all these services off!
     
  12. f1tech

    f1tech

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Unbelievable, that was it. Now to figure out how the Event Log service became disabled on its own.

    Thank you!
     
  13. itinko

    itinko

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    fitech.. her husband was futzing around with the system trying to make it more secure.. and cleaner... on a previous occasion he disabled her VPN by mistake.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/507659