1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connectify Virtual WiFi no Internet Access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by samkarim, Aug 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. samkarim

    samkarim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I've been trying to use connectify to use my laptop as a hotspot.
    I have an ethernet connection that my laptop connects to and i want to connect my itouch to the internet via wifi.
    I installed connectify and it worked just as it says it should, I can even connect my itouch.
    But i never get the internet connection with the itouch.
    I've checked and my Atheros wireless adapter is supported and everything seems like it should work, but for some reason it doesn't.

    Please help. I have a hunch it's maybe a small little thing that's blocking the internet (possibly a windows sharing setting?).
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Could be a firewall. I believe that ZoneAlarm, for example, needs to be configured to allow internet sharing through the computer.
     
  3. samkarim

    samkarim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    hmm...possibly...
    I have AVG (free version), but it doesn't have a firewall
    The only firewall I have is Windows Firewall...are there some settings I should change there?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Maybe there is something you need to configure in the Windows firewall, but I have no idea what. The Connectify instructions have no mention of firewalls?
     
  5. samkarim

    samkarim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Well, the connectify website has some documentation on antivitirus programs blocking the internet, but nothing about Windows Firewall.
    Their documentation [http://www.connectify.me/docs/index.html] only has troubleshooting if antivirus blocks it on the comp.
    One thing I tried doing is disabling Windows Firewall entirely...it seemed that it helped a bit because now when i connect the itouch it also gets the DNS and all. But it still can't connect to the internet.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/943784