1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting 2 PC's Through the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MikeyD2288, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MikeyD2288

MikeyD2288 Thread Starter

Hey i am new to this site but am part of other forum sites so i know how this works. I have searched extensively for a way to connect 2 pc's over the internet. Here's what im looking for i am a volunteer firefighter and our department has 2 stations, each station has a pc and are both on a broadband connection. What we need is to access the pc's from either station. Example if i have a file on the pc at station 1 i want to be able to access it from the pc at station 2. I would like to know if there is any freeware or if we have to buy the software thats cool too. Sorry for the long post. Thanks in advance.

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Hi and welcome.

This should do the trick if someone is always at the other location.

http://www.teamviewer.com/index.aspx

If not, I use logmein.com

https://secure.logmein.com/home.asp?lang=en

I think I paid $39 for one year, and I can make either of my computers the "master" computer in order to grab a file from it.

If you don't need to actually download the file, you can use the free version.

Then again, if you are running XP or Vista, you can use remote desktop.

3. MikeyD2288

thanks, with remote desktopcan you access the file from either pc. also we dont dont need to access from any other pc just between the 2. i gues like a network just over the net

4. ~Candy~