1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting a desktop XP PC with a laptop VISTA

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Katylar, Oct 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Katylar

Katylar Thread Starter

I'm a real noob, and I don't know if the question is extremely stupid, but is it possible to connect my two computers with a UTP cable?

You see, the DVD writer is on the laptop, and it would take a long time to transfer files from the desktop using my 1gb Flash Disk... I was planning on writing my videos and music, to free up some space on my hard drive (my laptop is running low, too.)

I have a DSL connection, so of course I have a UTP cable from the modem that I plug into either my Desktop or Laptop LAN port (is this what's called an ethernet port)

Is there a way to use that cable and the Ports on my Laptop and Desktop to connect the two computers? Maybe a special piece of software to make it happen?

I don't have the money to buy one of those usb-to-usb cables, you see.

Thanks.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

You need an Ethernet crossover cable to directly connect the two computers.

3. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
  4. Katylar

Katylar Thread Starter

Sorry, as I said before, I'm a real newbie about practical networking (the only training I had was in a Cisco course I took when I was in highschool)...

So I just connect my desktop and laptop using my UTP through their ethernet/LAN/NIC ports?

I didn't work last time...

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

How about a make/model of the two computers?

6. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    "So I just connect my desktop and laptop using my UTP through their ethernet/LAN/NIC ports?"