1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting a Wireless router to DHCP Disabled wired router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by daziguy, Mar 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daziguy

daziguy Thread Starter

I am a novice when it comes to networking so please help me out...
    I am connecting Netgear wireless router (wgr614 v5) to an already placed router on the network (Nortel Networks Router). I am having trouble with wireless router because the Nortel router is DHCP disabled. Please if someone could help me, I would greatly appreciate. Please, explain step by step how to configure the wireless router to work with Nortel router.

P.S. The Nortel router cannot be DHCP enabled...I have DSL coming to Nortel router. So, Nortel is the primary router. Nortel router can't be removed because it is required by my company that I use it to connect to their network over the internet.

Thanks for your help!

2. coulterp

coulterp

You could plug a LAN port of the WGR614 to a LAN port of the Nortel, which with DHCP disabled would be used therefore as a switch rather than as a router. DHCP from the WGR614 would serve your LAN.

But this all rather assumes that the route off your LAN to the internet is though the WAN port of the WGR614 rather than via the Nortel - you don't give enough information about the overall setup, for example why the Nortel cannot be removed.

3. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together with DHCP disabled.

Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of any other IP addresses on the subnet.

Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.