1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting a wireless router to my (wired) verizon boradband dsl 6100 modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jade109045, Sep 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    well right now i am using a pc but i am getting a laptop soon and i will need wireless connection. can i buy a wireless router from lets say Walmart or best buy and install it myself?
    if so can you tell me how to do this in "Beginners language" lol :) please and thank you
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Yes, it's not a big deal to install the router. You'll want a standard router with Ethernet WAN connections, what model are you considering?
     
  3. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    well i think the question i really ment to ask is what kind of wireless router do i need to get if i have a verizon model 6100 dsl modem thingy and i plan to get a hp 6v6t laptop....
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    If you don't like John's "a standard router with Ethernet WAN connections" how about "a standard wireless router with Ethernet WAN (or Internet or Modem) connection"? We're both saying "Ethernet WAN" to make sure you don't get some kind of modem/router combination unit.
     
  5. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    thank you :) i just didnt want to go out and buy the wrong thing...
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
  7. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you.
     
  8. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Yes, that router will work.

    Since both the Netgear router and the Verizon Westell 6100 modem/router default to LAN address 192.168.1.1 you will need to set them up in one of the three following ways.

    a. Change the LAN address of one of them to something else; for example 192.168.3.1. This is not the best, but is the easiest for somebody just starting with networking.

    b. Bridge the Westell to act as a modem only. If you do this you then must configure the WAN section of the Netgear for your DSL connection (probably PPPoE and account/password) as Verizon gave you and as you can see in the WAN section of the Westell. Instructions for doing this are here.

    c. Use the Netgear as an ethernet switch and wireless access point:

    JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  10. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    1 more question (i hope) will i need a wireless network adapter if my pc is not able to get wireless internet? or does it not matter
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you expect to connect a machine wirelessly, you'll obviously have to have a wireless adapter for that machine. Most modern laptops come with wireless capability.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You can still connect the PC by ethernet.
     
  13. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    thank y ou Terry....JOHN i was asking about my desktop pc which has NO wireless card....just trying to get my facts straight
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    No problem, we just answer them as we understand them. :)
     
  15. jade109045

    jade109045 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    TERRY...........
    ok. i have a verizon modem-dsl model 6100
    i already bought a wireless router its a netgear wireless g router
    my pc is some kind of e machine
    im trying to connect a wireless router to my dsl modem so i can connect my laptop wirelessly


    but i only have 1 ethernet port on my verizon modem, what do i do?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/947548