1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting broken laptop screen to external monitor???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ericm171, Mar 7, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ericm171

    ericm171 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I cannot figure out how to do this. I have a Lenovo Y510P upgraded to windows 10 pro. The HDMI is connected to an external TV HDMI. I have tried to hit the function key with the external monitor key, but nothing happens. I do not know what else to do. Any suggestions???
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,657
    First Name:
    Jim
    Could be more than just the laptop screen which is damaged. The video chipset could be faulty, thus there is NO video output.
     
  3. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,343
    Are you sure you have the TV set to the right HDMI input port?
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,908
    First Name:
    Liz
    I have to change the settings on my tv also when I plug in an HDMI cable. If I don't, the tv continues to show the tv and not what is on the laptop.
     
  5. ericm171

    ericm171 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Definitely. I use HDMI that port and cord for my PS4. I even switched the inputs to every channel to be extra sure, no
     
  6. ericm171

    ericm171 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Which settings do you switch? That same port and cord work with my PS4 with no adjustments. I can even connect my Surface Pro laptop to that port and channel via mini-HDMI with no issues.
     
  7. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,908
    First Name:
    Liz
    I go to the tv's remote and press the source button. My choices are tv, HDMI1, HDMI2, HDMI3, Component or Video. If I select nothing, the tv continues to appear. If I select HDMI, I have to be sure that I pick which of the 3 HDMI ports the laptop is plugged into.
     
  8. ericm171

    ericm171 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks, but that's not the problem
     
  9. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,343
  10. ericm171

    ericm171 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you. I will try this and see what happens
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1224122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice