1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting Laptop to External Hard Disk

Discussion in 'Networking' started by HotSecretary, Oct 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Hi. I'm new here and I really need some info. I have a Galaxy High Speed 3.5" Hard Disk External Enclosure connected to the PC and all is well. BUT...I need to connect my laptops to the External Drive as well. I cannot find them on the network connections. Any advice? :confused:
     
  2. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Are you trying to share out the external hard drive so other machines can access it??
     
  3. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Yes. That is the plan........
     
  4. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Okay what have you done so far? Please be specific. Have you shared out the drive and assigned permissions??
     
  5. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    I don't think I've shared the drive and assigned permissions......where do I look? Thanks.
     
  6. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Well if you right click on the drive and go to properties, you should see two tabs:

    Sharing
    Security

    If you're on a standard workgroup, all PC's will have to be on the same workgroup, and all usernames and passwords will have to be the same. Otherwise you get a password prompt from each machine trying to connect.
     
  7. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    OK. When I rt click on the drive (I called it Z drive) there is just one tab that says General. It is saying that it is a network drive......earlier though, it said disconnected network drive......all 3 computers are on the same network router and there is no password prompt on the computers. My laptops just don't see the Z drive.
     
  8. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    You only have 1 tab when you right click and go to PROPERTIES??
    You don't see anything else?
     
  9. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Here is exactly what I'm doing....
    My Computer
    Network Drives
    Right click on "Public Storage (Z)"
    Properties
    one tab "General"
    Here is what I see:
    General
    Type: Public Network Drive
    File: FAT32
    then Used Space
    then Free Space
    then Capacity
    Then pie chart of used and free space.
    That is it.
    Am I in the right place?
     
  10. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    No...go into My Computer.
    See your Z:\ drive? Right click on that and go to PROPERTIES
    You should see a sharing tab and a security tab
     
  11. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Yep. I did that. Same thing....one tab "General". :(
     
  12. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Do I need to go through the Network Tasks and Create new connection again? Maybe I did something off there?
     
  13. HotSecretary

    HotSecretary Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    GOT IT!!! I had to Map the Network Drive on the laptop. Thanks for your time on this......
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/636666

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice