1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting multiple through Verizon

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Bal1, Dec 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bal1

    Bal1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 6021 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, -1988 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 939683 MB, Free - 900134 MB; E: Total - 305242 MB, Free - 242355 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0J7G0Y
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

    I have 2 computers. Both computers are Windows 7 Home Premium. One of them has a Verizon router connect with an Ethernet cable to the Verizon router. It has internet explorer and is the main computer. I have it set up for sharing. I want to be able to share data and files with the main computer. The other computer does not have a network. How do I set it up so that it has Internet Explorer and allows sharing?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain - further

    there is no network facility on the PC at all
    or its not connected to your network ?
     
  3. Bal1

    Bal1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
     
  4. Bal1

    Bal1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    There is no network on one of the computers. The other has this showing as a network: "Atheros AR8161/8165 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if there is no network connector then you will need to install a network adapter of some description to share files - although there are articles on connecting two machines together via USB - to copy files

    whats the make and model of the PC without a network adapter
    exact model of the router - does it have wireless capability - you may be able to buy a wireless adapter

    its very unusual for a PC running windows 7 NOT to have a network adapter

    did the pc originally come with windows 7

    lets see a device manager screen shot - from both machines

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    -----
    http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f136/how-to-use-windows-device-manager-655905.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082722

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice