Connecting Non-wireless printer to a router.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

e-dog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
7
Have a non-wireless printer (HP F4280) and non-wireless Desktop (Dell Dimension 2000). Just added an HP G62 wireless laptop and Cisco Valet+ router. My problem is I want to make the printer wireless but their is only one USB port and no ethernet port. If I put an adaptor into the USB port on the printer to make it wireless, I will of course loose access from my dektop. Can I put a splitter into the printers USB port and use an wireless adaptor plus the cable to the desktop?? Any suggestions/recommendations appreciated. I apologize if this has been answered but I couldn't figure out how to phrase the question for the search function.
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
If you just need to connect to the printer wirelessly from
the laptop,you should be able to leave it setup and connected
to the desktop and just set it up as a network printer on the laptop.
It will connect through the router.
The router should be connected to the desktop.

If you want to connect to the printer through wireless on both,
you would want a wireless print sever connected to the printer
and the printer would setup as a network printer on both computers.
 

e-dog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
7
Thanks for responding. The printer now appears on the laptop however when you try to print from the laptop it turns the print spooler off. I can restart the spooler by going to services.msc and clicking start but the same thing will happen again. Accessing from the desktop is fine,. Any suggestions??
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
When you added it as a network printer,were you prompted
to install a driver?
Might also go to start/control panel/network and sharing center
and see if file and printer sharing is on and check other sharine settings.
Might also be some firewall or security settings that could be trying
to block access to the spooler.
The laptop should actually be making a network call to the spooler
on the desktop,so the spooler on the laptop is bypassed.
Is it still printing anyway?
 

e-dog

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
7
More adds. If I restart the print spooler from the desktop, my DataCad program won't run. I get "WDC caused a General Protection Fault in module DCW.EXE at 0033:1008". Re-booting fixes it, trying the printer again from the laptop kills it. Laptop says print spooler is running.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
If you connect the printer to your network, it will be available to all computers on the network regardless of the type of network connection you use. A printer connected to a wireless print server can certainly be used by a computer connected to the network by wire.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top