Connecting to multiple computers behind routers from the outside

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

miloBorealis

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
3
So I have several computers behinds a Linksys router. I would like to access each computer through the outside by adding another name as a network prefix. Let's say each computer would be designated as Mouse, Cat, and Dog.

Take SSH for example. I would want to SSH into one computer using port 22 by means of ssh [email protected] and the other by ssh [email protected]. I know I could just use different ports for ssh and have them be forwarded to the different computers with the router and achieve the same effect, but I was wondering how I would do it this other way.

How would this setup work? Does it use a DNS server?

I know I can access different machines on my school this way, but I was curious on how this is actually implemented and if I could do it on my home network. You don't have to give me specific details, just a general direction into what I can research.

Thanks so much.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You need different ports. You can only port forward a port to a single machine behind the NAT layer.
 

miloBorealis

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
3
hmm, okay.

Well then in a more broader since, how do most organizations have it setup where users can
can ssh into various machines by name? Like my at my school, I can access each machine by main1.cs.school.edu or main2.cs.school.edu.
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
If you are accessing them from the Internet then they have dedicated IP addresses for each one.
 

miloBorealis

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
3
I guess you're right. I just logged in to a few of them and went to whatismyip.com to verify.


This is probably beyond the scope of simple tech support, but how is it that most big organizations connect different computers to the internet then?

As in the case with my school, there's probably about 150-200 computers in the department with dedicated ip addresses. Must there a modem for each one, or some sort of special switch or something provided by the ISP?

But thanks, you answered my question. :)
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,660
This is how what you're asking about is done.

The company goes to an ISP. They request a block of IPs like a /25 for instance. This will give the company 125 useable addresses. Then the company uses a router or firewall capable of supporting the number of public IPs to be routed. Cisco routers and firewalls have this capability. If the devices are to be exposed directly to the internet, a simple switch would be the only device required provided the handoff from the ISP is an ethernet connection or the provided modem provides the ethernet handoff.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top