1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting to wireless network: what's missing?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aromes, Jun 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Hi,
    Using my windows XP Pro laptop, I am able to
    View availage wireless Networks that are made available to
    people of my compound. So I select one of the available wireless network and try to connect to it by simply clicking on CONNECT. Then I get the message "Connected to xxx network. Signal strength = excellent"
    But I guess that's not enough because I cannot browse web pages and anyway, I do not even get an IP address (even after an ipconfig /release followed by an ipconfig /renew).
    Also: how come without providing a Network Key, I was able to still connect (and how come I was able to connect but not being able to go further)?
    What is missing to be able to access the web despite the confirmation that I am connected? Do I need to absolutely run at the administrators of those hot spots (wireless networks) and ask them for some setups?
    Thanks for helping
     
  2. MasterMegaManX

    MasterMegaManX

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    No. You do not need any setups from the Admins. you could just use their internet to connect, though you do need premission to use their public Wirless. You say that you are not getting an IP. That could be a problem with your services. Im assuming you were screwing arouind with your services. Go to control Panel > Administrive tools > services and make sure that DHCP client is on automatic and has started.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post your IPCONFIG /ALL here from when you are connected

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  4. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    What's the IP address that ipconfig shows?
    Just zeros.
    Kind of weird: on one hand, the confirmation that I am connected to the hot spot
    (Connected to xxx network. Signal Strenght = Excelllent), and on the other hand I
    have no IP address (eventhough my DHCP service is enable)..no way of course to browse the web.
    So I guess I should talk to the Admins of these hot spots and ask them what I need to setup my connectivity (which is weird..since people always connect to hot spots with no need to ask anything from the Admins of these hot spots)
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are those networks encrypted or not? Most wireless utilities will indicate which are secured and which are open and will prompt for the key/passphrase if secured.

    When etaf asked you to post your IPCONFIG /ALL here, it was to try to get another clue as to what the problem may be.
     
  6. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    -Are those networks encrypted or not?
    Reply: No they are unencrypted.
    -Most wireless utilities will indicate which are secured and which are open and will prompt for the key/passphrase if secured.
    Reply:
    Probably my problem is in the way I connect to those wireless networks.
    Here's how I do it (so that you can correct me):
    In "Network COnnections", I right click on "Wireless Network connection", then I choose
    "View available wireless networks". I select one of the available ones and simply click on "Connect". I then receive the confirmation "Connected to xxx network - Signal strength=excellent". Right after I try to browse the web, but no web pages are displayed. I do an Ipconfig /all and I still have 0.0.0.0 as Ip address. Just for info, the DHCP is enable and it works fine because I can get an IP from my DHCP servers at work for example.
    My wireless issue is valid for any wireless network I am trying to connect to.
    PS: I try non ecrypted networks (In the Properties of the wireless network I am trying to connect to, I have nothing checked where it says "Data encryption (WEP) enabled)

    -When etaf asked you to post your IPCONFIG /ALL here, it was to try to
    get another clue as to what the problem may be.
    Thanks to etaf and you guys to help out.
    As for the ipconfig /all, since there's nothing (just 0.0.0.0 every where), I
    did not send its results.

    Thanks Guys
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Confused here
    You have a wireless issue for all wireless networks BUT you use it at work....

    just to be sure HOW are you connected at work - wireless or Cable

    an IPCONFIG may be useful to see the
    this bit
    and also to check the settings for the LAN and for the WLAN

    also can you go into the device manager
    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the +

    post whats there

    also any ! X or ?
     
  8. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks etaf for your followup.
    It's a laptop that has both an ethernet adapter (that I use to connect
    to my work's ethernet network) and a wireless adapter as well (that I am
    trying to use to connect to public wireless hot spots of my area).
    -----------------
    In device manager>network adapters, I have the following:
    -Cisco Systems PCI Wireless Lan Adapter
    -Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection
    No there's no ! X or ? in device manager
    --------------------
    In the LAN properties, I have:
    Client for MS Networks
    File and Print Sharing for MS Networks
    NWLink NetBios
    TCP/IP settings:
    (x)Obtain IP address automatically
    (x)Obtain DNS server address automatically
    In the Wireless Network Connection Properties:
    Client for MS Networks
    File and Print Sharing for MS Networks
    NWLink NetBios
    TCP/IP settings:
    (x)Obtain IP address automatically
    (x)Obtain DNS server address automatically
    (x)Enable IEEE 802.1x authentification
    ----------------------------------


    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : workstation1

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes







    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media connected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cisco Systems PCI Wireless LAN Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-8A-A4-2F-5F

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :





    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-60-10-9A-D8

    Thanks so much for your generous contribution
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have a look and see if you have enabled IP routing ICS
    right click on wireless connection
    properties
    advanced tab
    uncheck ICS internet connection sharing
     
  10. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks etaf.
    ICS was already unchecked.
    I also made sure that no firewall is involved (just to ease up things).
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I dont understand this bit then
    I thought it showed ICS - so must be mistaken on that :( :(

    hopefully terrynet will drop by
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    "(x)Enable IEEE 802.1x authentification "

    Can't guarantee that this is preventing you from connecting at all, but doubt that there is any wireless hotspot anywhere with this authentification. If you do get connected you will suffer slowdowns and/or disconnects. Suggest that you try connecting with this disabled.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    I agree, etaf. I think "IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes" means ICS.
     
  14. aromes

    aromes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks to etaf and Terrynet for help and support.
    I even tried without enabling IEEE 802.1x authentification and came up to same issues.
    I just think that all those hot spots have probably encryption enabled/mac address filtering enabled and that's why I cant go anywhere through their wireless networks:
    Which is fine ... but they (the city) do so much advertisements such as ->
    "just pick your wireless node and connect to the city's hot spots with no need of whatsoever" ... that it's a misadvertisement.
    I even called their networking people and they told be I need nothing...that I have the right setups...that it should work flawlessly. Well, I guess I'll abandon the idea of trying to connect to hot spots. To me, they are just a legend.
    Thanks so much guys for everything you've been doing.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    well it really should be simple
    I know of a great free tool that will give you a lot of information about the networks - if they are encrypted, channels, signal strength

    If you can get across to the PC via LAN

    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

    I'm still concerned about this IP router {ICS} and suspect its the problem why your wireless is not working

    let us know how you get on with netstumbler

    also look at properties of both wireless and ethernet connection properties and see if ICS is enabled
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/476802

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice