1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

connecting tv to laptop

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by scudvel, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scudvel

    scudvel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    hi, how do i connect a philips tv to a hp compaq nx 7300 laptop, the tv users manual says that pc connection is only available via HDMI and my laptop has a VGA 15 pin connection
     
  2. khayyam_42

    khayyam_42

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    ooh, you'll need a little converter. see ebay, should cost you less than $5, just a little block that converts 15 pin to HDMI connection. Then a cable that takes you from the large connection to the plug on your TV.

    You'll need a separate connection for audio, or external speakers. Unless the comapq's are LOUD!
     
  3. scudvel

    scudvel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    cheers mate, thats brill.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    63,032
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I believe that a VGA jack outputs only analog video signals and HDMI only supports serial digital signals. Unless the size and price has shrunk considerably for the electronics to do this it will take something larger than a little adapter block and costing more than $5 to convert a VGA signals into HDMI signals
     
  5. shannon08

    shannon08

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    355
  6. buffoon

    buffoon

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19,165
    Absolutely! There are plenty of wonder gadgets out there "converting" VGA to HDMI but usually they only make the plug ends meet. You need to convert the VGA into something the TV recognizes on its HDMI input. It still won't be HDMI going into the TV but the TV can be fooled. For that you need a "signal" converter and they don't come that cheap.
    WATCH WHAT YOU'RE BUYING AND GET THE OPTION TO RETUN IT IF IT DOESN'T WORK.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757066

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice