1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

connecting two computers using one cable???

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ahmedahmedahmed, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    After greetings.

    Sorry because I will describe what I need exactly which make

    the words too long......

    I have two computers one of them have two network cards one of

    them built in and the other is external , and the other one

    have only one built in network card.

    The first computer with the external card have LAN cable with

    (PPPOE) user name and password.
    I connected the two computers together using cable from the

    second card of the first computer built in to the second

    computer card built in.

    I make sharing files in each computer and I receive the files

    in each one that means the cards is working OK.

    I pressed at (set up home or small office network) at the first

    computer , used wizard and choose the first option (this

    computer connect directly to the internet).at the end it

    required a removable device I used flash memory and it make a

    file in flash which I will use it at another computer.

    I went to the second computer and open flash and pressed at the

    file during the setup I choose the second option (this

    computer connects to the internet through a residential gateway

    or through another computer on my network) and it finished OK.

    At the second computer at my network connection new connection

    appears which have the name of the first computer and under

    (internet gateway).

    NOW I need your help>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    How can I access to the internet at the second computer using

    the internet gateway??????????
    What I must to do that??
    I need it step step if that possibility.

    sorry again.

    And thanks for all

    Ahmed Hassan
     
  2. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    google internet connection sharing xp and follow the instructions
     
  3. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    i will try
    but is this about one cable LAN?? and using internet at the two computers

    thanks for reply
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Network Connections right click on the connection that has internet access - Properties - Advanced tab - select 'Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet Connection'

    That's enabling Internet Connection Sharing (ICS), because I think that you have done everything else needed.

    Restart that PC. Then Restart the other PC. If you don't now have internet on the client machine please show for both ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    I tried the internet connection sharing and it worked OK but the problem is it worked without using the anti virus firewall and you know that it's dangerous to use the internet without it.

    So how can I solve this problem???????????????????????????

    Thanks
    Ahmed Hassan
     
  6. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    I forget to say that I use eset (nod) anti virus
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    Anti-virus applications do not normally interfere with ICS or file sharing. Firewalls, of course, have to be configured for the desired access.
     
  8. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    I use ESET smart security with its firewall.

    What must I do to solve my problem?
    Again I need to save my computer from dangerous things and threaten.

    Thanks
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758872

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice