1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connecting With Wireless Connection?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LiLPaKiShOrTTy, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Ok let me begin:

    well i have a cable modem for internet from optimum online...
    and I also have a Broadband Router LinKsys wireless-G..

    and I have a laptop connnected to the router, which works perfectly fine with the connection and all..

    Now i have a desktop pc, that my friend didnt need, and gave it away to me since he was moving......and i need help to make a connection there so I can connect wirelessly with my desktop pc just like I have connected it with my laptop.....
    now in my laptop i have this thing in my programs called 'Wireless SecureEasySetup'
    so it was ez for me to make a connection....but yea, i dont have that in my other desktop pc.....so do i have to make a connection thru the "my network places" ?
    if yes, then can u tell me step by step how to do it?

    and yes, my other pc has an ethernet card
     
  2. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    oops, sorry i posted in wrong section
     
  3. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    Did you request to move this or did you start a new thread. Please to not start a new thread if you haven't done so. A mod can move this for you.

    ==========

    The PC does it have a wireless network card or only an ethernet card? Is there an antenna sticking out the back of the comp?

    Not very related but make sure you have your router secured. :)
     
  4. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    ahh, naa it dont have an antenna or anything......i guess its juz an ethernet card, not a wireless card.....

    ok like if i buy a wireless card, where do i have to place it?
     
  5. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    You stick it into the motherboard, in a PCI slot.

    Why don't you just connect normally?
     
  6. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    well because my ethernet cable is connected to my pc already....nd i need it for my other pc.....i only have one cable modem :(

    so since i also have a laptop, i bought a wireless g linksys router and connected it with my cable modem so i can use the laptop wireless around the house.....and now i have another pc i wanna connect to the internet with......so is there an ez way out of this mess?
     
  7. namenotfound

    namenotfound

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3,012
    Is it JUST wireless? Some of them are wireless/wired. I have a wireless router but it also has 4 ports to plug in 4 wired computers.

    Also, they make external wireless adapters for the computer, so you don't need to mess with opening up the case to put something in a PCI slot if you bought an external one.
     
  8. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    okkie, well i bought a wireless adapter, installed it, and it works.....but when i try to connect to the internet, all it says is Acquiring network address......doesnt go anywhere beyond that....waited for a looong time, but nuttin works.....and when i go to the wireless network connection to try to find a range, i could see my signal there, but now it doesnt show my signal range there...nows it says that:

    'windows cannot configure the wireless connection. If you have enabled another program to manage this wireless connection, use that software. If you want windows can configure this wireless connection, start the wireless zero configuration(WZC) service. For information about starting the WZC service, see article 871122 in the Microsoft knowledge base on the microsoft.com website'


    ok so what do i do now?
     
  9. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Moved this thread per PM from LiLPaKiShOrTTy
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you look at MS-KB 871122?

    Also, give this a try:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
     
  11. LiLPaKiShOrTTy

    LiLPaKiShOrTTy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    yes, i looked at ms-kb-871122

    didnt solve my prob.....and for the thing u told me to try, what do i type after cmd to reset the winsock entries and al that?
     
  12. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Type just this, make sure you put the space in between the 4 words..

    Go to Start>Run type cmd, and Enter key once....type:

    netsh winsock reset catalog

    (Press Enter)

    netsh int ip reset reset.log

    and press Enter.
     
  13. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Due to the amount of time and lack of response we are closing this thread.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537011

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice