1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connection broken occasionally

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ErrorProxy, Mar 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    So here's my hardware:
    Linksys dual-band Wireless-N USB Adapter WUSB600N
    Linksys Wireless G Broadband Router 4 Port WRT54G Ver. 2
    Motorola SB5101 Surfboard Cable Modem

    My internet runs pretty fast on my skeleton (that what I call my recently built computer) at 1-2 bars. It rarely goes higher than that. My laptop however, is right next to my skeleton and it gets 4-5 bars. I'm fine with the weak connection because it's rather fast. But sometimes the skeleton gets reception, but cannot load anything from the web. I run troubleshoot and this problem comes up: "The connection between your access point, router, or cable modem and the internet is broken."

    Is there any way to boost my signal, without moving my skeleton closer to the modem? Try not to suggest ethernet cables, please. I'd have to carry my skeleton all the way downstairs. Could it be an incompatability with N adapther and G router?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Hawking Tech has a number of products that will help you increase your wireless range. The root page is Hawking Hi-Gain™ WiFi Range Extending Products.

    Some of the more interesting products are this Hawking [HSB2] Hi-Gain WiFi Signal Booster, which can be used on either end of a wireless connection to boost the signal power.

    Another way to increase your signal strength is by the use of hi-gain antennas. You can choose from omni-directional or directional models, here are a some examples.

    Hawking [HAI7SIP] Hi-Gain 7dBi Omni-Directional Antenna

    Hawking [HAI15SC] Hi-Gain 15dBi Corner Antenna

    [HAO14SD] Outdoor Hi-Gain 14dBi Directional Antenna Kit

    For 802.11n applications, this ZyXEL ANT1106 6db omni-directional antenna can be used.

    For really long range outdoor applications, this 24dB parabolic WiFi Antenna may be a good choice.

    If you have a wireless adapter that doesn't have provisions for an external antenna, one adapter that I've had good luck with is a Rosewill RNX-G1 USB Wireless Adapter. It's feature is that is has a removable antenna and will accommodate replacement antennas.

    This is just a sample of available products, many people have hi-gain antennas with similar specifications, but I haven't seen any other suppliers of signal boosters.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Your adapter comes with a 5 foot (minus an inch) extension cable, right? Have you moved the adapter higher, to the side, etc., and still only get at most 40% signal strength while the laptop gets 80% or better?
     
  4. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Even when my Skeleton only gets 1-2 bars. When I go into Task Manager, I get 36 Mbps. My laptop only gets 12-24 Mbps.

    And yes. I've moved my usb adapter cord nearer to where my laptop is, as far as it can go. Which is also the direction of where the router is downstairs.

    My dad, just today bought a new computer, whilst he bought back the router that I had returned before. It's Linksys WRT610N. I've tried installing the one I returned before. I installed it, but couldn't get any internet. I went back to Best Buy telling them my problem. They said it's not as simple as just installing the hardware and software. You have to open some ports... which ports? I hate Linksys customer service.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    There is nothing wrong with saying, "I don't know," but Best Buy apparently has not yet learned that simple, honest phrase. There are no ports to open to connect to a router or to get internet access. You open ports, or do port forwarding, only when some special access is needed from the internet side--for example, I opened two ports so that my camera can be accessed from the internet.

    I assume the 36 Mbps and 12-24 Mbps you mentioned are nominal connection speeds. Those are low, and indicate that the signal strength is weak or there is interference (such as from another wireless network).

    To help with the Linksys "couldn't get any internet" problem we'd need to know more information, such as: can you connect successfully by ethernet? Do you detect the wireless network? Do you get a valid IP configuration? Can you communicate with the router via ping or accessing the configuration pages?
     
  6. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    36 Mbps and 24 Mbps are slow? I got these from the task manager network tab.

    My Skeleton can connect to the internet and webpages can load pretty fast. But the problem is it disconnects sometimes. I unplug the adapter and plug it in again, and it works. It's unpredictable and I want it to stop.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    A good 802.11g connection will have a nominal connection of 54 Mbps; actual data throughput maxes out at about 1/2 the nominal connection.
     
  8. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    I'm pretty far from my router though... and there's a lot of walls in between me and the router. Webpages load fast, I don't lag in games. That's all that matters to me.

    My solution is that I install the N router and the Skeleton will get 5 bar connections. But I've set it up before and it didn't work.. so I'm not sure how to set it up now. I just follow the directions? NO ports to open? Or whatever?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Reset the N router to factory default settings.

    With the modem and router unplugged connect the modem to the router's WAN port.

    Plug in modem. Plug in router.

    You should be able to scan for wireless networks, find the new one and connect to it and have internet access.

    Assuming this works well you can then configure the router--assign SSID, encryption, etc. Best, of course, to do this with an ethernet connection.
     
  10. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Uh.. explain how to do those steps.. My router is downstairs with another computer. Yes that is connected to the router with an ethernet cable.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Step 1 is called RTM: Read The Manual that came with the N router. It will tell you how to reset to factory default settings, and later sections will tell how to login to it and configure it.

    If you don't know how to get downstairs or to unplug electrical equipment I don't think I can adequately explain.
     
  12. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    But that's exactly what I did last time.. followed directions, (made a new wireless network?) set up pass and what not. No internet. Is it supposed to be the same network? Or you make a new one?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    You do not make a wireless network. That's the router's job. You, using a computer, scan for the router's wireless signal and connect to it.

    Then you change the router's network name (SSID) to something you like, add encryption, etc. Then you go back to your wireless computer(s) and again scan for the network and connect to it--you will be prompted to enter the encryption key.

    If you make the SSID the same as your current one you'll probably have to delete the profile from your wireless utility before connecting the first time.
     
  14. ErrorProxy

    ErrorProxy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    So.. my wireless Networks name is FOREVER, after I install the router it'll still be called FOREVER?
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Your wireless network name will be whatever the SSID of the router is set to.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/909686