Connection Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nydots

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
4
Hello!
So I'm having connection issues on my laptop. I own an ASUS, model Q553UB, with an Intel i7 processer, with Windows 10. I've had it for 8 months now, and never encountered this problem before. It only started this morning. I connected to my home internet, but I get a yellow exclamation symbol on my wifi symbol, and when I click on it, underneath my home wifi name it says No Internet, secured. All other devices I own connect perfectly fine to my home wifi, only my laptop has this issue. The only thing I can think of that might affect my Internet is I uninstalled a program called Cyber Ghost, a VPN service that I had no use for any longer. Any help would be much appreciated.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,490
there has been an issue that just requires a restart - not switch off and start and restart
But also do this as well

Lets try doing a tcp/ip reset and see if that resolves your issue

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

For windows Vista or Windows 7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

  • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
  • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
  • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste​

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
also the link has a Microsoft download Fix it , which will do the above for you

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

nydots

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
4
there has been an issue that just requires a restart - not switch off and start and restart
But also do this as well

Lets try doing a tcp/ip reset and see if that resolves your issue

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

For windows Vista or Windows 7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

  • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
  • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
  • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste​

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
also the link has a Microsoft download Fix it , which will do the above for you

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for the reply! I will try this out and let you know the results.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,490
lets have a look at an ipconfig /all and then we can see if its connected to the internet
once we see that info we can then do a set of ping tests and see if its actually connected , but removing the
Cyber Ghost, a VPN service
has caused some blocking

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all


We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - Please post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC
You will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
If you do not have another PC
Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries​

For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,490
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC
You will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
If you do not have another PC
Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply​

http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i - Version 1
https://www.xirrus.com/inspector/ Version 2
enter you details
This will Download the file " WiFiInspector-Setup-......."
( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo to be used )

Alternative links - Use the links below
Do NOT use any of the download managers offered - Cnet , just use the direct link below - and click on the download button
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml
http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
Also available from Microsoft downloads here https://www.microsoft.com/net/download
Stand alone version of.net framework https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=49981
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available under the HELP menu option

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

Note:
From the Version 1 user guide
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

From the Version 2 Guide
You will typically want at least one Wi-Fi network (SSID) in the 5GHz frequency or one in 2.4GHz at levels of -65dBm or higher in all areas where Wi-Fi is supported.

How to provide Screen Shot
To post a screen shot of the active window.

Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

Windows 8 & 10
you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool
(From the Windows 8 Start Screen, or windows 10 Search, type "snip" and press enter)
(From windows 10 - All Apps>Windows Accessories>Snipping Tool
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
see here
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/

To upload the screen shot to the forum, bottom right of your post are some buttons ("Upload File" button) and then select the file you want to upload, click on "Open", and the file will be attached to the post.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top