connection problem. no ip?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

morethanmost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9
Hellooo forum,

I have just spent the past hour lurking you for a solution to my problem. I found lots of cases like mine but the solutions didnt work for me.

Earlier today I re installed windows XP. Before reinstall my net was working fine. And now it won't connect.

I tried to use the installation disc that came with the modem, and partway through the install/set up it says that it cannot find my Gateway.


ipconfig shows " windows up configuration"
And when search the dev managers, network addapters is not in the list.

I realllly have no idea what ive done. Any help at all would be much appreciated.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
It's probably what you haven't done. :) Have you updated XP to SP3? Have you installed the latest (from the PC or motherboard manufacturer's web site) chipset, networking and other needed drivers?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
25
Yep, like Terry says, probably you haven't installed the chipset drivers and the NIC drivers.
The device manager should show "other devices" meaning it does detect hardware.
 

morethanmost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9
Oh okay thanks guys. I shall try later on tonight when i have access to a pc.


Just one more question.

For these drivers i need, how to i find out what make and model i have to be able to search the right drivers?

thanks very much
 

morethanmost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9
I just tried. But I can't seem to get it working. Though im not sure im even downloading the right drivers.

in system properties it says my pc is a: amd athlon 64 x2 duel processor 6000+

I searched and installed drivers for this but ITT didnt work.

when i boot my pc. It says gigabyte s series motherboards. I looked for drivers for this but I i found on the site was links for "drive tuner" which won't work for me because it wants to download from the net. Which I dont have.

If anyone could point me in the direction of the drivers I need. I'd be much appreicated. I am a total novice.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
For a brand name (Dell, HP, Acer, etc.) PC you find the drivers on the manufacturer's web site for your model. Some, such as Dell, make searching easier by giving you a Service Tag # that identifies your exact configuration.

For a custom built you find the drivers on the motherboard manufacturer's web site, or you can probably at least start using the drivers on the CD that accompanied the motherboard.
 

morethanmost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9
thanks mate, ive now sorted the drivers for the ethernet controller, and for my graphics card. but i am having trouble identifying my sound card to look for drivers.

I used "Cpuid cpu-z" to find out my mother board and craphics card, but i cant find the information on my sound card.

its a custom built pc, and ive long since lost all the packaging / install discs.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
No guarantees, but I'd try System Information for Windows to see what it can tell you about the sound card.

I just checked and see that SIW has undergone some changes since I last downloaded it. If you click on the Purchase/Download link at the top and then scroll to the "Freeware Versions" I see that the Standalone has been discontinued. I suppose the Home Edition is the same thing with advertising added.
 

morethanmost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9
Thanks Terry,

ive installed that program but this is what it shows me



im still abit lost :eek:, Is the Device ID what im looking for? or can i use that to find what im looking for?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
I think that if you search for (from the Device ID) VEN_xxxx&DEV_zzzz you will find useful information. :) Possibly you'll need to use more of the info on that line; I've never had to experiment with this.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top