1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Connection Problem - Won't Initially Load Browser Pages

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ADC2, Mar 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Dell Latitude laptop, Pentium M, XP Pro SP3, 2GB Ram, 60GB HDD (earliest date on folders is 2010.)

    Hard drive passes CHDSK, and is not fragmented.

    The Problem is that the comp indicates it is connected to WIFI, but IE8 cannot load browser pages.
    (Same for FF browser.)

    Comp connects via Automatic connection to a WPA2 router. This hasn't changed. Same router, same password, and Comcast modem for several years.

    No error messages on comp.
    No detected malware, viruses or strange processes in Task Manager.

    I can bring up the Wireless networks and manually disconnect from the my router, and then manually reconnect to the same router and everything works okay.

    AVG Free antivirus verified as not the problem.
    Firewall settings verified as not the problem.
    Router XMT power is adequate.
    I've un-ticked the box "Connect even if this Network is not broadcasting".
    I've ran from cmd prompt: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
    I've ran from cmd prompt: netsh winsock reset
    I've performed a reset of IE8's default settings
    None of the above correction attempts appear to have eliminated the problem.

    The comp will "sometimes" work correctly on reboot.
    Leaving it set awhile after a restart doesn't always work.

    Any additional help appreciated.
    TIA
    Albert
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2018
  2. Sponsor

  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,411
    First Name:
    Frank
    The only up-to-date browser that I'm aware of that works with Windows XP SP3 32-bit is Mozilla Firefox 52.6.0 ESR.
    https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/all/

    It's what I use in my Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit test computer, and it works fine.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Had FF ESR.
    It didn't load pages.
    Removed FF ESR and installed FF 51.0.1 for XP.
    It doesn't load pages either.
    Still have the Auto Connect problem.
    thank you for your input.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2018
  5. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,509
  6. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I'll look into that possibility, and report back.

    Located a Winsock XP Fix utility.

    thx
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2018
  7. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    It doesn't appear that Winsock is at fault.

    I reset the router since my first post. That didn't do anything to fix the problem.

    Nothing has really changed.

    After startup I still have to bring up the Wireless networks and manually disconnect from the my router, and then manually reconnect to the same router and everything works okay.


    Both IE8 and FF ESR (which by the way automatically updated when I launched it.) will load pages, BUT Only after manually re-connecting to my router.

    The Automatic connection problem still exists.

    A am continuing with more analysis and more troubleshooting.

    Also, still looking for other suggestions.
    thx
     
  8. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Have you tried connecting directly to the router?
    How far away are you from your router?
    Is there anything between your laptop and router..example (a wall/tv/phone/microwave..etc?
    Is the driver for your wireless card updated?
    Is this your router or your isp's router?
    If this is your isp's router,did you call them to see if they made any updates to the firmware?
     
  9. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    1. No, but didn't think it was necessary to do.
    2. 10 ft
    3. One standard, non-insulated wall. No appliances.
    4. Same driver for years w/no problems. Device Manager says, wireless "..working properly..".
    5. My router for several years w/no changes. LinkSys E2500, DD-WRT w/external antenna.
    6. n/a

    Comcast cable modem, & router recently restarted.

    Since last reply deleted automatic wireless connection, and created a new one. It works better, but still most of the time I have to manually disconnect and then manually reconnect. After that everything works fine.
    thx
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  10. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    1.You should always make sure your drivers are up to date whether they are working or not.
    2.Delete all old connections if you have any by going to your wireless properties.(connections where you might have connected elsewhere) etc..at a friends house or other.
    3.I would still try to connect directly to the router to rule out a problem with the router.

    Other then that,im not sure what other advice i could give you.
     
  11. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    1. I will have to check that out later, as the my son has the comp in his 5th wheel behind our house.
    2. There aren't any old connections that I could see. Usually my son just uses it here.
    3. I have a desktop connected to the back of the router, and another laptop running Linux connected wirelessly to it. I would believe that the router is functioning fine. Signal strength of the router is more than adequate. Also, the XP laptop was 10ft closer to the router than the Linux laptop was when troubleshooting.
    thx

    p.s. Not that this has anything to do with my problem, however when troubleshooting I did notice when I right click on the Wireless Zero Configuration (WZC) in the tray it listed numerous old "Profiles". How are those old "Profiles" removed or deleted?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  12. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    201
  13. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    are you running all 3 computers at the same time? unplug the other 2 computer's from the router.Reboot your computer and see if there is any change.i doubt it,but you never know.Is worth a try if everything else is failing.

    Be sure IPV6 is also un checked.
    click on your wireless connection in the taskbar.
    right click your internet connection.
    click "status"
    Then click "properties in the box.
    uncheck IPV6 if it is not.
    click ok
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  14. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I'll try all that later, and report the results.
    I'm pretty sure that IVP6 is disabled, and was a long time ago., but I'll make sure.

    thx for the above link,but it doesn't appear to deal with the WZC "Profiles", but I'll look around a bit more in that Network Connections utility when I able to get access to the XP lappy. My son's 5th wheel is currently locked up.
    thx
     
  15. ADC2

    ADC2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Set the XP laptop in the same location as it was the other day when testing.

    Started laptop to continue troubleshooting, and it connected properly. FF ESR browser loads pages okay.

    +++++++++++
    Wireless Card Driver:
    Opened the Device Manager to check driver information on the Intel Pro 2200 BG wireless card.
    Current driver version was 9.0.4.33 dated 3/8/2007.
    I was able to locate a newer version on Intel website.

    Downloaded and installed the newer driver file.. The computer disconnected and the re-connected to the router during installation.
    The FF browser continued to be able to load pages.

    Device Manager now shows the driver as version 9.0.4.39 with a date of 12/10/2009.

    ++++++++++
    Idle Router Check:
    Shutdown the desktop and Linux laptop computers that are normally connected to the router.
    Restarted the XP laptop.
    XP laptop connected to the "idle" router and FF ESR browser was able to load pages.
    Restarting the desktop and Linux laptop. Didn’t affect the XP laptop's connection.

    ++++++++++++
    IVP6:
    Performed Run> cmd > ipconfig
    Listing indicates that ipv6 is not enabled.

    ++++++++++++
    Just Checking:
    I've restarted the XP laptop a total of 5-6 times with only one bad connection.

    Note: Bumped up Transmit Power on router a bit.

    ++++++++++++
    Router Test:
    Disabled Wireless connection on XP laptop. (Fn + F2) and plugged directly into router.
    No problems.

    Enabled the Wireless Card and rebooted.
    Connected okay to the router wirelessly.

    Restarted the XP laptop another 6-8 times without problem.

    ++++++++++++
    Prognosis:
    The three things that probably corrected the connection problem:
    (1) Deleting the automatic connection profile and creating a fresh connection profile,
    (2) Updating the driver for the Intel Pro 2200BG wireless card.
    (3) Bumping up the transmit power a bit on the router.

    ++++++++
    As far as the Connection Problem I would say has been resolved.

    Thanks to all who gave suggestions.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
    snuffleufflegus likes this.
  16. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    glad you got it fixed :)
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1206302

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice