Connection Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
Hello, I have a weird problem. I have a desktop computer and a laptop computer in my home office. My desktop connects to the internet without a problem. My laptop will only connect if I use an old hub. If I try to connect directly into the cat 5 jack, it does not connect. If I plug an old hub into the cat 5 jack and then plug the laptop into the hub, I can connect.

My ISP is CenturyLink. I am on a fiber optic network w/ 20mbps. My laptop is a Compaq V6444US.

I am at my wits end. Any help is appreciated.

Windows XP Pro SP3
Intel Centrino Duo T2450
2 GB RAM




Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop1

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-49-13-64



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-4B-8C-7C

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

205.171.2.65

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 09, 2011 4:22:20 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 4:22:20 PM


Intel Pro 100 VE Network Adapter
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
can we see an ipconfig /all from the working machine - then from the faulty machine NOT connected to a HUB and then with it connected to the HUB

make sure we know which is which and maybe post as separate replies here

My desktop connects to the internet without a problem.
the desktop connects fine to the same connection
directly into the cat 5 jack
correct
 

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
Here is the laptop connected directly into the cat 5 jack:



C:\Documents and Settings\User1>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-49-13-64

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-4B-8C-7C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
205.171.2.65
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 09, 2011 4:22:20 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 4:22:20
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>

Here is the desktop connected directly into the cat 5 jack:



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Dave>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dave-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-FB-A6-89-5A-79
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fd00::b95f:2776:641:ca63(Preferred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::24ad:e9a5:933e:d097(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b95f:2776:641:ca63%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 09, 2011 5:07:38 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 5:09:30 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
205.171.2.65
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
when you have the laptop connected to the cat5 connection

would you do the following
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
ipconfig /release
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
ipconfig /renew
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

POST another ipconfig /all
Now

Type the following command
Ping 192.168.0.1
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
i my have to log off soon as its UK timezonr I'm in and well past midnight and bedtime :) :) - but i'll hang around till 01:00
 

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
dia disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>
 

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
C:\Documents and Settings\User1>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
dia disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>
 

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>Ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>
 

1387delta

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
19
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>Ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.224.115] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.224.115: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.115: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.115: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.115: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 74.125.224.115:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 48ms, Maximum = 48ms, Average = 48ms

C:\Documents and Settings\User1>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
thats connected to the internet OK - but you say it does not work - is that still correct its not working on the internet now
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top