1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connection problem?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Baldwinbaby, Aug 18, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Baldwinbaby

    Baldwinbaby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I have a dell inspiron 8100 that is pretty old and never been messed with! Yesterday I somehow installed Windows xp onto it. It does not have WiFi built into it but I'm wondering is there some way I can connect to internet using like a Ethernet cable or something from the laptop into my router. Is this possible and if so how do I do it. I no nothing about this stuff and any help would b greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,650
    First Name:
    Frank
    Dell Inspiron 8100 Laptop (support site)
    That model laptop was introduced in 2001, so it indeed is a very old one.
    It appears to have integrated 10/100 Mbps ethernet, but it doesn't appear to have integrated wireless.
    Most of the laptops of that era used an optional wireless adapter card.

    I'm not sure what you mean when you say, I somehow installed Windows XP in it.
    Does that install include the Service Pack 3 upgrade?
    If it doesn't, it may be difficult to get a wireless adapter card or a USB wireless adapter to work.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,655
    First Name:
    Liz
    On the right hand side near the front are 2 ports. The first one is the ethernet port and the 2nd one is a port for a dialup modem.
    They look to be almost the same size but are not.
    You want to attach an ethernet cable to the port closest to the front of the computer.
    It has a network symbol above the port similar to this
    ethernet_port.jpg
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,650
    First Name:
    Frank
    Baldwinbaby is a first-time poster and hasn't replied back to any of us.
    Any further comments and advice from us is probably a waste of time.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    My last on Monday was only to point out that the details of the port and its location had already been provided.
    However I agree with you
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1231663

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice