1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connection Problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by KookeyManjo, Jan 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KookeyManjo

KookeyManjo Thread Starter

Greetings!
    This is my first time here so I hope you'll bear with me. And boy, do I hope someone can throw some light my way because thus far nobody's been able to even strike a match!

Problem:
    When I connect to my ISP, I'm told that I'm registered on the network and given my connection speed. Occasionally, however, once I start Outlook Express I'll get the following error message:

'The host 'pop3.XXXXXXXX.com' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'XXXXXXXX Mail',
    Server:'pop3.XXXXXXXX.com', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL):
    No,Socket Error: 11004, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D' [N.B. the X's are my
    doing --- the actual information is correct]