connection problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
my computer wont connect to the inbternet and is only sending 3 or 4 packets at a time....any suggestions on how to restore my connection?
ive got an xp running sp3 going to a netgear router
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.


IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
both...i have a pci nic (broadcom 14e4 dev 1677)
and i have an ethernet coard going into my hardwire connection
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
when i logg into my router from another computer it says that my pc is connected both by the wired and wireless connections

and when i go into device manager it says my devices are all working correctly
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
458
go to run, type "cmd" (no quotes). at the window type "ipconfig -all" (without quotes and a space after the g)

copy and paste here
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JESSIE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Loopback Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-4C-4F-4F-50
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.25.129
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.1.1
Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HP WLAN 802.11a/b/g WL500 #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-20-E0-1A-22-73
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 22, 2010 12:52:05 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 23, 2010 12:52:05 PM
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-21-5C-D0-6C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 22, 2010 12:51:50 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 23, 2010 12:34:28 PM
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,427
Get rid of the Microsoft Loopback Adapter. If Windows is choosing to use that connection with the extremely strange static IP configuration for internet access there is no mystery.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
209
:cool:Is it possible that you may have pushed in the reset button on the netgear hardware and upset the settings, do you have a netgear setup disc this would enable you to get on the net type in admin then password you will then be able to re enter you encryption password etc, you may have had a power cut that would clear your info we had this exact problem on Monday with our netgear wireless modem.
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
what is the loopback adapter anyway?

im pretty computer literate so u dont have to dumb it down too much lol
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
all my connections are now set to retreive ip automaticly...even the loopback adapter....which i have disabled
 

jschesser19

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
62
can someone shed some light on what the whole packet sendiing and recieving thing is....bc its only sending 3 or 4 packets at a time....on any of the connections
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top