1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connection through ethernet cable, but not via Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Paladoradin, Aug 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Hi there,

    I've got a PC connected to the internet with an ethernet cable, and two laptops connected to the same router via wireless. Everything was working fine untill a few days ago. At the moment, I still have internet on my PC, but both of the laptops do connect to the router, but won't connect to the internet.

    I have tried the usual /flushdns and problem solving in Control Panel, but I can't get it to work, and I haven't got a clue what I should do next.

    Here's the IPConfig /all for both laptops (One pasted, the other one in file as to not spam the post:

    Microsoft Windows [versie 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rechten voorbehouden.

    C:\Users\Wilma>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP-configuratie

    Hostnaam . . . . . . . . . . . . : LaptopWilma
    Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . :
    Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : hybride
    IP-routering ingeschakeld . . . . : nee
    WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee

    Draadloos LAN-adapter voor Draadloze netwerkverbinding 2:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 7A-F1-A1-5F-89-DB
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Draadloos LAN-adapter voor Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-5F-89-DB
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::510a:bbb4:f5ff:8192%10(voorkeur)
    IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.3(voorkeur)
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : zondag 19 augustus 2012 11:53:18
    Lease verlopen. . . . . . . . . . : maandag 20 augustus 2012 11:53:18
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : fe80::40bf:e254:44fc:520e%10
    10.0.0.1
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 225505697
    DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-B1-D7-DA-88-AE-1D-10-9E-D1

    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : ingeschakeld

    Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.{58F122B9-04C8-4CA6-8FDC-11E1D4F42D62}:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.{79F4C4F5-3CFE-472F-8EBB-2CB27995AA8A}:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor 6TO4 Adapter:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja



    http://filedump.org/files/cnzR1345372671.html

    And here's a SS from Wi-Fi inspector:

    http://imageshack.us/f/59/xirruswifi.jpg/



    I hope someone here might have some advice.

    Thanks in advance,

    Paladoradin
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the signal appears to be oscillating in the region of -65 and -70 is the limit

    as both laptops cannot connect i would do the following

    1) powercycle - see below
    2) log into the router and remove the wireless security - see if you can now connect with no wireless security and if so , put the security back on
    3) try an get nearer to the router so you get a stronger signal and see if they will connect

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Alright, thank you for your advice so far. I tried your it all out:

    - Power cycle didn't do anything (Had already tried it, but gave it another shot anyway)

    - Removing the password didn't change anything either, I still connect, but through that connection I'm not getting internet

    - Moving closer doesn't work either. The router is in the basement, and living room where the laptop is used is right atop of that, so max 2 meter distance.


    I did find out something new tho: When I put in an ethernet cable, the laptop can connect thruogh wireless network. However, if I turn off the wireless network on laptop (fn+something) I can't connect, even through cable. I know this sounds weird, and it has confused me even more.

    So I can connect to the wireless when I use a cable between router and laptop, but I can't connect through the cable alone, or wireless alone. (When I do connect wile but using cable and wireless, I get real slow Internet, 15mb/s, while I usually had 35-45 mb/s
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is that the same for both laptops
     
  5. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Yeah, they both get the connection, as in "the white bars icon" but with the "yellow triangle with exclemation mark" through it. (They don't pop up in the network on my PC when they connect like that. That only happens when I use both the cable and wireless as stated above)

    EDIT: I also tried some stuff with the help of a friend. Forcing the laptop to connect through a certain IP, and renaming network/different security and password.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i assume with no change to the results

    can we see an ipconfig /all when working
     
  7. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Nope, didn't change a thing.

    Another thing I just found out tho, is that when I remove the cable, the laptop still has connection (really, really slow) for about half a minute, then it drops out again.



    IPConfig /all (Wireless on, ethernet cable connected):

    Microsoft Windows [versie 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rechten voorbehouden.

    C:\Users\Wilma>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP-configuratie

    Hostnaam . . . . . . . . . . . . : LaptopWilma
    Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . :
    Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : hybride
    IP-routering ingeschakeld . . . . : nee
    WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee

    Draadloos LAN-adapter voor Draadloze netwerkverbinding 2:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 7A-F1-A1-5F-89-DB
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Draadloos LAN-adapter voor Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-5F-89-DB
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::510a:bbb4:f5ff:8192%10(voorkeur)
    IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.3(voorkeur)
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : donderdag 23 augustus 2012 20:52:53
    Lease verlopen. . . . . . . . . . : zaterdag 25 augustus 2012 14:24:43
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : fe80::40bf:e254:44fc:520e%10
    10.0.0.1
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 225505697
    DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-B1-D7-DA-88-AE-1D-10-9E-D1

    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : ingeschakeld

    Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.{79F4C4F5-3CFE-472F-8EBB-2CB27995AA8A}:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.{58F122B9-04C8-4CA6-8FDC-11E1D4F42D62}:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor 6TO4 Adapter:

    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter voor Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:4d0:721:abe6:6c71(voorke
    ur)
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::4d0:721:abe6:6c71%12(voorkeur)
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : uitgeschakeld

    C:\Users\Wilma>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres no ethernet connection there
    can we see a device manager screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8

    Attached Files:

  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you Ethernet controller appears to have a problem

    can you provide details about the PC - make and exact model
     
  11. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Packard Bell
    EasyNote TM87
    Intel Core i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27HGz 2.27GHz

    64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Ok I installed all 3 the programmas that said WLAN, but still doesnt work. ( not even if I plug in the ethernet cable that I use for this PC)
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    why WLAN - its the ethernet thats missing not wireless
    download and install the LAN
     
  15. Paladoradin

    Paladoradin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Right my bad, sorry.

    So I installed the LAN one, but still no results
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065679

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice