Connection Timing Out - One Site Only

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

java_momma

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2003
Messages
193
Hi! I'm having an issue that I'm not sure how to fix. The page in question is a work page (I can't link to it as you need to be logged in) and it works for everyone but me, and I can get it to work on my phone while on 4G but not wifi. It's the only page I have an issue with, in every browser. I get the following, for example:

The connection has timed out

The server at <site name removed> is taking too long to respond.

The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

My internet speed is fine.

Any ideas? I'm at a loss. This is a new position so I was hoping to try to fix this before having to go to them. Thanks so much.
 

java_momma

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2003
Messages
193
No, I work from home, we all do so the internet access is different for everyone. It has to be something with my internet, but I'm not sure where to begin checking as it's just this one page that times out. I can get it on my phone using 4G, but it needs flash, and that's not on my phone. I've tried plugging directly into the modem and it still times out.

Thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

Type the following command:

tracert <URL that is timing out>

[Press ENTER after the command.]

If you want to show us the results: Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.


IF you were tracing the route to Google, to show you an example since you haven't yet told us the problem site, you would type

tracert www.google.com


My guess is that it will time out somewhere along the route, and if you get somebody else to do the same thing their's will complete. IF this is what happens then the problem is a routing problem with your ISP. And the problem may only happen with one of their Gateways. To get them to understand that you'll have to tell them about your failed tracert, your colleague's successful one, and probably have to ask to escalate to "tier 2" or the tech's supervisor.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,038
I agree with Terry, this is either DNS issue or a routing issue.

If you feel uncomfortable in notating the website here, you can do so with me via private message. The tracert command would be a great start.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
46
Have you tried a different internet browser?

Like Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Opera ?

If that solves the problem, try resetting your browser to the default settings
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
1
Try adding Ad Blocker to the browser. I had something similar last year and the culprit was a redirect due to google analytics. Once that redirect was stopped, the original site worked fine.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top