1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Connectivity Question

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Giant Octopus, Jun 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Hi

    When I visit websites like Yahoo or sportslogos.net (sites that have alot of embedded ads) I tend to lose Internet connection. For some reason after a few minutes on these type of sites my Internet connection times out and the light on my router goes red. I have to unplug and then replug in my router to reconnect to the internet.

    I was just curious as to why this happens? It gets annoying after awhile.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    My guess is that your router is failing, your modem is failing, or you have very poor internet service.
     
  3. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    I dont think there is anything wrong with my modem or Belkin router. My internet speed is 72 mps.
     
  4. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Bypass your router and connect directly to your modem to test.
     
  5. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    I don't lose connection with my wired modem. Only when I'm using my WiFi router.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    When and if you realize there is a problem with the router update the firmware if you don't have the latest installed. Reset the router to factory defaults. If the problem persists replace the router or live with the problem.
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Post the make and model of the computer and router you're using please.
     
  8. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    I'm using a Dell PC with Windows 10 (but this affects my tablet too), and a Belkin Router that I have connected to a Thomson Speedtouch Modem.
    I only lose connection when I visit sites with a lot of embedded ads. These include www.the-numbers.com, www.yahoo.com and www.sportslogos.net
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Try using an ad-blocker in your web browser, or turning it off if you use one already, just to see what happens.

    What speed is your internet connection ?
     
  10. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    It doesn't say when I'm using my computer but when I check Internet connections on my tablet it says that the signal is "Very Strong" and its 72 mps.
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Looks like your internet connection is fine then.

    Did you try thr adblocker idea ?
     
  12. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    If this is true then it seems like you have an issue with router.
     
  13. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    My router is still fairly new. Is there a way I can troubleshoot my connection when this happens again and will it tell me why it happened? Like "DCP failed to connect" or "TCP timed out" or whatever?
     
  14. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    If your issues are resolved by connecting directly to the modem then your router more then likely has some issues. I would recommend resetting it to factory settings and updating to the latest firmware as follows and test.

    NEVER! Restore saved settings after installing Firmware.
    ALWAYS! Enter your settings manually.
    ALWAYS! Do a Factory Reset before Installing Firmware.
    ALWAYS! Do a Factory Reset after Installing Firmware.
     
  15. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    I'm just curious as to why my internet speed drops alot. When I check it on my tablet it usually says 72 mps. Sometimes it shoots up to 144 mps and then drops down again to 72 mps. Then at one point it dropped to 26 mps (I was having trouble loading a Youtube video) before it jumped back up to 72 mps. I was just wondering why this happens. Why isn't my speed consistent?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211025

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice