1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Constant dropping and researching for IP address

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Sand836, Jan 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Just switched over to Charter internet from DSL and ever since my computer connects to the internet but continuously drops and I get "Acquiring IP adress". It connects and stay on for a minute or so then drops again. It always comes back but is constantly interrupting. This computer is hard wired desk top. I have to wireless laptops that have no problem at all. It's very annoying.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this new problem since switching to charter internet , did you get a new router etc , did the wired pc work perfectly on the old setup ?

    Will you post the following when its working all OK and then repeat ALL the tests when it disconnects and post here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Here you go


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SANDI-7MKZBKMVE
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-4C-AE-5A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.189.0.100
    24.159.64.23
    24.247.24.53
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 02, 2011 5:05:26 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 02, 2011 6:05:26 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>
     
  4. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Forgot to mention that yes it was working fine prior to switching from DSL to Cable but it's an older Dell desktop.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a separate modem and router ?
    how often does it disconnect ?
     
  6. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Maybe your firewall needs rights for the new network (the new ISP) to get out and renew the IP address.
     
  7. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    It disconnects every couple of minutes.
     
  8. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    How would I update it?
     
  9. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Sorry not answering all of your questions - trying to do multiple things at one. Combined router and modem
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do all the ipconfig /all and the three ping tests and then repeat when disconnects - see post #2
     
  11. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>ping 192.168.0.10

    Pinging 192.168.0.10 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.10:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    That was NOT one of the ping tests
    the one I need to see is to the default gateway
    ping 192.168.0.1

    and the other two tests and also more important - need to know when they where down - when it was working correctly or when it was disconnected
     
  13. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [72.14.204.103] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 72.14.204.103: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.14.204.103: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.14.204.103: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.14.204.103: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 72.14.204.103:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 37ms, Average = 27ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>
     
  14. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sandi Mercier>
     
  15. Sand836

    Sand836 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    It disconnects so fast and reconnects quickly so I'm having a hard time catching it when it's disconnected.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Constant dropping researching
  1. be4con
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    447
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972236

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice