1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

In Progress Constant hanging of Chrome & Thunderbird

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by ep2016, Aug 1, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Hi,

    So I do have ESET running all the time & it's not finding anything, but I know there's something wrong.

    It all started when I tried to move mail from one of my numerous mail accounts in Thunderbird from my inbox to a sub folder as it was accumulating too much mail since FB causes people sooo many problems & I get notified every time someone complains on Down Detector.

    I know I screwed up by moving too much at once, but even after I've restarted TB & the computer 3 times in the last week, the issues won't go away.

    I'm doing nothing, just using Chrome &/or TB as normal & every 30-60 secs it hangs, then releases, then hangs again.

    Even my VLC is hanging every so often & I'm having problems on my other computer too & someone from a different forum say he's not finding any malware. Sigh

    Do you guys help us to remove malware, trojans, etc.?

    Thanks a ton
     
  2. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016, Welcome to the Tech Support Guy malware removal forum.

    I am iMacg3 and will be helping you with your computer problems.

    Please keep the following information in mind before we begin:
    • Back up any important data before we continue.
      • Back up any important data on your computer to external media. I will not knowingly suggest any steps that will damage your computer; however, malware infections are often unpredictable and it may be necessary to reformat and reinstall your operating system depending on the infection.
    • Do not run any fixes or tools on your system unless I request that you do so.
      • Running additional tools on your system can interfere with the clean-up process, or cause issues such as false positives.
    • Please read all instructions carefully, and complete them in the order listed.
      • Items that are especially important will be highlighted in bold or red.
    • If your computer seems to start working normally, please don't abandon the topic.
      • Even if your system is behaving normally, there may still be some malware remnants left over. Additionally, malware can re-infect the computer if some remnants are left. Therefore, please complete all requested steps to make sure any malware is successfully eradicated from your PC.
    • If you have pirated or illegal software on your computer, uninstall it now before proceeding.
      • Using pirated/cracked software is an easy way to infect your computer - almost as easy as intentionally downloading malware. Therefore, please remove any, if present, before we begin the clean-up.
    • If you have questions at any time during the cleanup, feel free to ask.

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (FRST)

    Download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop.

    Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system, download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, and that will be the right version.
    • Right-click FRST.exe/FRST64.exe then click "Run as administrator"
    • When the tool opens, click Yes to the disclaimer.
    • Press the Scan button.
    • When finished, it will produce logs called FRST.txt and Addition.txt in the same directory the tool was run from.
    • Please copy and paste the logs in your next reply.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    In your next reply, please include:
    • FRST.txt
    • Addition.txt
     
  3. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Thanks iMac

    So I have one very very OLD piece of software called Personal Assistant that I purchased back in I don't know, 2002 or something.

    The company went under so there's no longer a registration key, but it's not pirated software.

    Everything else is fine on my computer.

    Here are the 2 files.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  4. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    Did you set your Google Chrome search provider to Yahoo Search?

    ---------------------------------------------------
    AdwCleaner

    Download AdwCleaner and save it to your desktop.
    • Double click AdwCleaner.exe to run it.
    • Click Scan Now ...
      • When the scan has finished a Scan Results window will open.
      • Click Cancel (at this point do not attempt to Quarantine anything that is found)
    • Now click the Log Files tab ...
      • Double click on the latest scan log (Scan logs have a [S0*] suffix, where * is replaced by a number, the latest scan will have the largest number)
      • A Notepad file will open containing the results of the scan.
      • Please post the contents of the file in your next reply.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    In your next reply, please include:
    • AdwCleaner[S0*].txt
     
  5. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Ok, this is very very strange.

    1. Is this Malwarebytes? B/c if it is, I have the premium version on my computer, but I no longer run it b/c I was told I shouldn't since I have ESET.
    2. I ran the one you told me to run & it didn't do anything. There's no way a scan takes less than a minute. See attached log
    3. On one of my Chrome persons, yes, I switched it to Yahoo.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    AdwCleaner is developed by Malwarebytes, but is not the same program as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware should run fine alongside other AV programs.

    AdwCleaner often runs quickly compared to other scanners. From the scan log, it appears the scan ran successfully.

    Thank you for the information.

    Follow the instructions below to run a scan with Emsisoft Emergency Kit:

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Emsisoft Emergency Kit

    Download Emsisoft Emergency Kit and save it to your desktop. Double click on the EmsisoftEmergencyKit file you downloaded to extract its contents and create a shortcut on the desktop. Leave all settings as they are and click the Extract button at the bottom. A folder named EEK will be created in the root of the drive (usually c:\).
    • After extraction please double-click on the new Start Emsisoft Emergency Kit icon on your desktop.
    • The first time you launch it, Emsisoft Emergency Kit will recommend that you allow it to download updates. Please click Yes so that it downloads the latest database updates.
    • When update is complete, click Malware Scan. When asked if you want the scanner to scan for Potentially Unwanted Programs, click Yes. Emsisoft Emergency Kit will start scanning.
    • When the scan is completed click Quarantine selected objects. Note, this option is only available if malicious objects were detected during the scan.
    • When the threats have been quarantined, click the View report button in the lower-right corner, and the scan log will be opened in Notepad.
    • Please save the log in Notepad on your desktop and post the contents in your next reply.
    • When you close Emsisoft Emergency Kit, it will give you an option to sign up for a newsletter. This is optional, and is not necessary for the malware removal process.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    In your next reply, please include:
    • Emsisoft Emergency Kit log
     
  7. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Ok, but I have 3 different HDs on my computer & I also ran the software on my 2nd computer which is way smaller & it took 18 secs. I just don't see how it could go thru that many files in only 12 secs.

    Anyway, the Emisoft didn't find anything :(

    Do you like AdwCleaner better than MBAM?

    Just so you know, my SSD is brand new from last Aug./Sept. So is the video card & 4 new sticks of memory, so I'm very concerned now about all of this. - Sigh.

    Thanks
     
  8. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    AdwCleaner is generally used as a "portable" application for detecting adware/other malware. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is generally used alongside an AV as an anti-malware program.

    This FRST fix will clean up a few "orphaned" entries, as well as empty temporary folders. Please do this...

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Farbar Recovery Scan Tool - Fix

    • Highlight the contents of the below code box and press Ctrl + C on your keyboard:
      Code:
      Start::
      CreateRestorePoint:
      EmptyTemp:
      CloseProcesses:
      HKU\S-1-5-21-1954436953-2609503839-2833483172-1000\...\Run: [] => [X]
      HKU\S-1-5-21-1954436953-2609503839-2833483172-1000\...\MountPoints2: {89822cee-8e1f-11e8-a457-806e6f6e6963} - J:\SETUP.EXE
      Startup: C:\Users\Michelle\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\Send to OneNote.lnk [2018-09-23]
      BHO: No Name -> {B4F3A835-0E21-4959-BA22-42B3008E02FF} -> No File
      FF Plugin: @microsoft.com/GENUINE -> disabled [No File]
      FF Plugin-x32: @microsoft.com/GENUINE -> disabled [No File]
      S3 asmthub3; system32\DRIVERS\asmthub3.sys [X]
      S3 asmtxhci; system32\DRIVERS\asmtxhci.sys [X]
      CustomCLSID: HKU\S-1-5-21-1954436953-2609503839-2833483172-1000_Classes\CLSID\{162C6FB5-44D3-435B-903D-E613FA093FB5}\InprocServer32 -> C:\Users\Michelle\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\17.3.6743.1212\amd64\FileCoAuthLib64.dll => No File
      ContextMenuHandlers5: [ACE] -> {5E2121EE-0300-11D4-8D3B-444553540000} =>  -> No File
      FirewallRules: [{7EEA5114-1917-4D0D-8C94-6F7B8F4A03CF}] => (Allow) C:\Users\Michelle\AppData\Roaming\Zoom\bin\airhost.exe No File
      FirewallRules: [TCP Query User{6FFA9F34-94DD-44FF-9E00-472AA18EFF6D}C:\program files\jitsi\jitsi.exe] => (Block) C:\program files\jitsi\jitsi.exe No File
      FirewallRules: [UDP Query User{B755EC5C-222B-4903-9833-A3E7723FEBE0}C:\program files\jitsi\jitsi.exe] => (Block) C:\program files\jitsi\jitsi.exe No File
      End::
    NOTICE: This script was written specifically for this user, for use on that particular machine. Running this on another machine may cause damage to your operating system
    • Double-click FRST.exe/FRST64.exe to run it.
    • Press the Fix button just once and wait.
    • Restart the computer if prompted.
    • When the fix is complete FRST will generate a log in the same location it was run from (Fixlog.txt)
    • Please copy and paste its contents into your reply.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    In your next reply, please include:
    • Fixlog.txt
    • Let me know how the computer is doing.
     
  9. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Oh wow, it removed ALL of my pinned Word/Excel files & now Word won't let me pin files that are open :(

    So far so good with no hanging, but I've been on the phoen & haven't used the computer as much.

    How can I get the pinned Word docs?

    Also on Brave I lost the options on right click so I can't even open a new window.

    Help

    P.S. you forgot to tell me to paste that stuff into the program.

    I only knew to do that b/c years ago someone else had me do that.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  10. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    P.P. S. TB is still hanging periodically. Maybe marginally less, but it's still a problem.
     
  11. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    Are you referring to this feature in Microsoft Word/Excel?

    Which options on right click are you referring to?

    ================================================
    No need to paste the script into the FRST window. FRST is able to read the contents of the clipboard after you copy the script.
     
  12. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    It's ok, I had to close down Word & now I'm able to see the files that were opened so I can PIN them.

    And now Brave's right click is finally working.

    FRST - I didn't know that just copying it let's it read it. Funny

    Anything else I need to do?
     
  13. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    Do the issues with Thunderbird and Chrome persist?
     
  14. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Yes, I mentioned that above about TB still being an issue.

    And just now without me even touching the computer it switched from the Brave tab I was reading to a Chrome tab LOL

    I have GHOSTS on my computer.
     
  15. iMacg3

    iMacg3 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Hi ep2016,

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Create a System Restore Point
    • Click the Start button, type sysdm.cpl, and press Enter.
    • Select the System Protection tab and click Create.
    • Enter a description for the restore point and select Create.
    • Once complete, close the System Restore window.

    ---------------------------------------------------
    Clean Boot
    • Press the Windows Key + R. Type msconfig and click on OK.
    • msconfig will now open. Click on the Services tab, then check the Hide all Microsoft services box. Select Disable all.
    • Click on the Startup tab, then select Disable All.
    • Close the Task Manager and return to MSConfig. Click OK and restart the computer.
    • Test your computer performance.
    Let me know how the computer is doing in Clean Boot mode.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Constant hanging Chrome
  1. neuronjockey
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    374

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1230869

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice