Control Panel Multimedia Lock ups

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

j_wilk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
15
I'm working with an AMD K6-333 w/ 64 MB RAM and WIN98 also running TweakUI and I'm having lockup problems working with Audio CD's or just opening and closing the Multimedia control panel. It locks up to the point that Ctrl-Alt-Del will not do anything. Here's what I've tried:
- Upgrading to Win98SE
- Removing and Reinstalling sound drivers (Integrated Crystal CS4235)
- Tried a different sound card
- updating virus protection and checking for viruses
- going into safe mode - device manager and occurances of sound
- Add/remove programs - Windows Setup - remove multimedia and reinstall
- tried a different cd rom drive
- ran system file checker

Sound seems to work fine with .wav files. I would think that if it were a corrupt file associated with Multimedia then upgrading to Win98 SE would have fixed it. I'm thinking a registry problem but not sure. Formatting is not an option.

Got any ideas?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
My advice is go to housecalls & run the free online virus scanner.
Click here to do so!

and to protect yourself from hackers etc... Get Zone Alarm
Click here the free version is fine

****important****then there is spyware ... go get Ad-Aware
Click here to download it


this should get you in pretty good shape

Savvy :)


cleanup http://www.piersontech.com/07-CleanHardDrive.htm

after you do all this, reboot and come back so we can do the next step
 

j_wilk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
15
most of this had already been done, but I have accomplished these tasks... still locking up. And it doesn't appear to be a problem with the Mutilmedia control panel. I renamed it and inserted an audio cd and it still locked up.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Do you have as-aware for spyware.... it will cause( spyware eill ) all kinds of troubles.

perhaps you should show us your startup group
go to start/run ... type in ... msinfo32 click ok
then click the + at software envirement
then ckick on startup
go to edit & click on select all
then back ro edit & click copy
come back, paste it here
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I don' know why you should be getting a freeze just opening the multimedia applet in the Control Panel. Perhaps mmsys.cpl is corrupt and should be restored. You might also run system.ini (from start>run) so it opens in Notepad and verify you have a:

drivers=mmsystem.dll

entry under the [boot] header.


And some folks need to have DMA mode unchecked in their Device Manager CD-Rom properties>settings page to avoid freezes and other errors when playing audio CDs
 

j_wilk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
15
I'll type the Startup Environment because at the moment that particular computer doesn't have internet access.

Crystal 3D Audio Control - Startup Group - C:\Windows\cwd3dsmd/exe
Taskbar Display Controls - Registy (Per-User Run) - RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
ScanRegistry - Registry (Machine Run) - c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registy - Registry (Machine Run) - c:\windows\taskmon.exe
SystemTray - Registry (Machine Run) - SystTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile - Registry (Machine Run) - Rundll32.exe powprof.dll, LoadCurrentPwrScheme
FontFix - Registry (Machine Run) - c:\windows\options\systools\fntfix.exe
ScheulingAgent - Registry (Machine Service) - mtash.exe
 

j_wilk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
15
I checked the system.ini and it contains the drivers=mmsystem.dll

I also unchecked the DMA settings, but that didn't seem to fix the problem either.

I copied a different mmsys.cpl file from my other computer that has the same version of Win98 and that didn't solve the problem either.

Also, I've installed Winamp just to see if by chance it would be a problem with cdplayer.exe and it locks up also. (I knew it would since it appears to be something with Multimedia control panel and not just Audio Cd's)

btw... I really appreciate all the help everyone has been so far. The more ideas the better the chance of resolving my inconvenient problem.
 

j_wilk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
15
Seems to have been a problem with TweakUI. It was a version that came preinstalled on this Packard Bell and it didn't give me the option to uninstall it from Add/Remove programs, so I just kept it from loading in msconfig startup. So, I downloaded a newer version and installed it, and then uninstalled that version and it removed the other version of TweakUI also. I don't know why, but this fixed the problem. I don't really know why I tried to remove TweakUI anyway other than I was grasping for straw...


again, Thanks for all your help and ideas ...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Thanks for the follow-up. It definitely seems like an odd fix; I hope it holds up. There are some Control Panel and CD-Rom related settings in TweakUI, but I expect they would have been carried over.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top